No application menu in VNC

Issues related to applications and software problems
ras123
Posts: 15
Joined: 2016/03/01 05:32:36

No application menu in VNC

Post by ras123 » 2017/11/25 07:24:36

Hi,

My /etc/systemd/system/vncserver@.service file is given below

Code: Select all

[Unit]
Description=Remote desktop service (VNC)
After=syslog.target network.target

[Service]
Type=forking
User=username

# Clean any existing files in /tmp/.X11-unix environment
ExecStartPre=-/usr/bin/vncserver -kill %i
ExecStart=/usr/bin/vncserver %i -geometry 1920x1080 -localhost
PIDFile=/home/username/.vnc/%H%i.pid
ExecStop=-/usr/bin/vncserver -kill %i

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
I am using CentOS Linux release 7.4.1708 (Core). After connecting this desktop remotely, I cannot see the application menu and other buttons.

liuqiong7618
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017/12/11 04:27:10

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by liuqiong7618 » 2017/12/11 05:09:26

I meat the same issue in Cent OS 7.4, the desktop is black and I can't find the "Applications" "Places" menu
It works fine in the Redhat 7.0 as the same steps
I also post the thread at the ultravnc forum:
https://forum.ultravnc.net/viewtopic.php?f=71&t=33502
Attachments
vnc.png
vnc.png (61.41 KiB) Viewed 1606 times

Pyohwan
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017/12/10 14:56:55

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by Pyohwan » 2017/12/31 16:34:29

I am same issue and didn't find solution yet.

uncdubdiver
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017/10/04 20:37:36

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by uncdubdiver » 2018/01/05 15:53:50

I'm having the exact same issue. I get the HOME and TRASH folders, and nothing else. I've followed every set of tigervnc-server instructions out there, and still, the same result. CentOS Linux release 7.4.1708 (Core)

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1135
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by hunter86_bg » 2018/01/06 19:03:38

Most probably it's a bug with the tigerVNC . I would recommend you to file a bug.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 22762
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by TrevorH » 2018/01/06 20:24:39

Well that screenshot that was posted clearly has scrollbars on it and the menu that you're all looking for would be in the portion of the screen that you cannot see because it needs to be scrolled to see it...
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

beernut0415jwh
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018/01/13 14:57:37

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by beernut0415jwh » 2018/01/13 15:02:00

I am also having this issue. The scrollbars comment is not applicable, you can see that it is scrolled to the top. I have no scrollbars and same thing is happening to me. This didn't use to happen either, something changed. As I am accessing client side with various VNC clients, they all show the same result, it must be on the Centos 7 side.

Has anyone solved this yet or determined where the problem lies?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 22762
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by TrevorH » 2018/01/14 00:57:19

It appears to be a bug that's fixed by editing /etc/systemd/system/vncserver@:1.service (or whatever file you use) and in the [Service] section, right after where it currently has "User=youruser" add the line

PAMName=login

Save and exit the file, run systemctl daemon-reload and then systemctl restart vncserver@:1 and log back in and it should work.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1135
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by hunter86_bg » 2018/01/14 13:47:33

Hey Trevor, how did you debug the VNC issue ? I'm just curious how you came to this fix.

P.S.: Is there a bug report ,as I can't find any in the bugzilla.redhat.com ?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 22762
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: No application menu in VNC

Post by TrevorH » 2018/01/14 16:02:05

Mainly by reading the output from journalctl -u vncserver@:1 and googling for the first error message it issued which was

Jan 13 15:09:48 centos7.trevor.local gnome-session[26311]: gnome-session-binary[26311]: WARNING: Could not get session id for session. Check that logind is properly installed and pam_systemd is getting used at login.

That led me to pam and making sure that it pulled in pam_systemd.so and then somewhere I found the thing about PAMName=login.

Edit: I subsequently found https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1506273 and added my 0.02¢ to it
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply