Enviroment Variable for Java

Issues related to applications and software problems
brokenbones

Enviroment Variable for Java

Post by brokenbones » 2017/12/15 11:50:34

Hi there guys!

First post here. I'm really new with Red Hat based Linux system, so maybe that's the reason of not reaching my goal. Here is the scenario:

So I'm trying to set up a soft wich starts (and needs) with a script wich uses java. The start.sh script is something like this:

Code: Select all

java name-of-the.jar -parameter1 -parameter2
The problems is that i don't have java runtime enviroment's binary based on /usr/bin, what i mean is when i try to launch java just using command "java" on the terminal it does not recognize it, obviously, cause it's located in another path

I can launch the the scripts using:

/path/to/the/binary/./java name-of-the.jar -parameter1 -parameter2
And is all cool, but after the app itself uses java again, and not finding it, it stops. I have done a lot of system file manipulation like in bashcr /etc/profile and stuff like that, but i think, the most representative proof is what's happens when i try to set the enviroment variable just by terminal

So I tried:

set JAVA_PATH=/path/to/the/binary/ (with and without the "/" at the very end)
export JAVA_PATH
And then i verified if it's correct using

printenv JAVA_PATH
Answer

/path/to/the/binary/:
It looks like correct to me, but anyway, i'm missing something there... could you help me please?

Thanks a lot guys, see ya later!

TrevorH
Site Admin

Re: Enviroment Variable for Java

Post by TrevorH » 2017/12/15 12:03:01

Use the alternatives command to set the default java to run. Something like alternatives --install /usr/bin/java java /usr/java/latest/bin/java 1 then use alternatives --config to make that the default.
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke