[SOLVED] GNOME Extensions post-Firefox Quantum

Issues related to applications and software problems
Post Reply
Mike_Rochefort
Posts: 95
Joined: 2016/03/16 02:34:19

[SOLVED] GNOME Extensions post-Firefox Quantum

Post by Mike_Rochefort » 2018/08/04 03:08:38

So, post update of FireFox is there a way to manage our gnome extensions? I've tried building the chrome-gnome-shell plugin from source but that didn't take in either Firefox (ESR and self-install) or Chromium. So with this update how are we supposed to manage this? I've also tried with the Firefox extensions (didn't need it before) but it stilled complained about the lack of a host connection, despite being built.

Apologies if I'm just being blind and the answer is right in front of me.

Cheers,
Mike
Last edited by Mike_Rochefort on 2018/08/18 03:33:39, edited 2 times in total.

owl102
Posts: 323
Joined: 2014/06/10 19:13:41

Re: GNOME Extensions

Post by owl102 » 2018/08/16 19:54:32

This works fine here:

As root:

Code: Select all

yum install epel-release
yum install git cmake coreutils pygobject2 python-requests jq
Afterwards as user:

Code: Select all

git clone https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/chrome-gnome-shell.git
cd chrome-gnome-shell/
mkdir build
cd build
cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr -DBUILD_EXTENSION=OFF ../
su
make install
exit
(Tested today with an up-to-date CentOS 7)

See also: https://wiki.gnome.org/Projects/GnomeSh ... stallation
Last edited by owl102 on 2018/10/15 09:11:00, edited 2 times in total.

Mike_Rochefort
Posts: 95
Joined: 2016/03/16 02:34:19

Re: GNOME Extensions

Post by Mike_Rochefort » 2018/08/17 23:49:41

Interesting, I'll have to try again. I notice that you have python-txrequests in your list. Is there a reason you're using this over base python-requests? It seems logical that you shouldn't need 3rd-party (even though it's EPEL) packages to use a (should be) native toolset. Maybe I need to uninstall gnome-shell-browser-plugin while I'm at it to be thorough.

Cheers,
Mike

Mike_Rochefort
Posts: 95
Joined: 2016/03/16 02:34:19

Re: GNOME Extensions

Post by Mike_Rochefort » 2018/08/18 03:14:53

Okay, got it working. I had to uninstall the gnome-shell-browser-plugin and also install the Firefox extension from the Extensions site. Then it started working in Firefox ESR. Thanks for the help! The python-txrequests package isn't necessary.

Cheers,
Mike

owl102
Posts: 323
Joined: 2014/06/10 19:13:41

Re: GNOME Extensions

Post by owl102 » 2018/08/18 05:58:58

Mike_Rochefort wrote:
2018/08/17 23:49:41
I notice that you have python-txrequests in your list. Is there a reason you're using this over base python-requests?
Thanks for the hint, I just corrected my post.
It seems logical that you shouldn't need 3rd-party (even though it's EPEL) packages to use a (should be) native toolset.
But unfortunately jq is needed and jq is not part of the base repository (yet).
Maybe I need to uninstall gnome-shell-browser-plugin while I'm at it to be thorough.
I forget to mention that I haven't installed gnome-shell-browser-plugin but installed the plugin Firefox was prompting automatically when visiting https://extensions.gnome.org.

Mike_Rochefort
Posts: 95
Joined: 2016/03/16 02:34:19

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME Extensions post-Firefox Quantum

Post by Mike_Rochefort » 2018/08/18 13:44:04

I completely forgot JQ was in EPEL, missed that when I was reviewing everything.

The browser-plugin was interesting in the past. When using it you didn’t have to install any browser extension. Firefox 52(?) would be natively supported without any explicit add-one or what have you. That’s why chrome-gnome-shell threw me for a loop.

After I uninstalled it I re-ran make install and noticed that although everything was labeled as up-to-date, there was one file installed to /lib{64?}/mozilla/... and I think that was it.

Cheers,
Mike

owl102
Posts: 323
Joined: 2014/06/10 19:13:41

Re: GNOME Extensions

Post by owl102 » 2018/09/22 17:10:02

owl102 wrote:
2018/08/16 19:54:32
git clone git://git.gnome.org/chrome-gnome-shell
The GIT repository of GNOME has a new URL, so this line needs to be changed to

Code: Select all

git clone https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/chrome-gnome-shell.git
The rest stays the same.

(I've updated my initial post.)

Post Reply