How to configre network card on centos?

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
Kunwar
Posts: 55
Joined: 2014/08/28 23:21:43

How to configre network card on centos?

Post by Kunwar » 2014/08/28 23:28:28

I have a fresh install of Centos on a machine with two NICs, one built-in and another one installed in PCI slot. However in the network settings I get one shown as wired connection picking up IP from DHCP and working but other as unknown with not much functionality. When I use

lspci | grep -i 'ethernet'

Code: Select all

00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82566DM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 02)
07:09.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 43)
How do I get the other one to work?

When I run ifconfig -a I get:

Code: Select all

~]$ ifconfig -a enp0s25: flags=4163 mtu 1500 inet 192.168.0.107 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255 inet6 fd6e:957e:20a2:0:218:71ff:fe7f:d316 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x0 inet6 fe80::218:71ff:fe7f:d316 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20 ether 00:18:71:7f:d3:16 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet) RX packets 8459 bytes 7719475 (7.3 MiB) RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0 TX packets 6638 bytes 1066031 (1.0 MiB) TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0 device interrupt 19 memory 0xf0500000-f0520000

lo: flags=73 mtu 65536 inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0 inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10 loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback) RX packets 8 bytes 666 (666.0 B) RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0 TX packets 8 bytes 666 (666.0 B) TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
When I use lsmod | grep -i rhine I get nothing just the prompt

Code: Select all

[kunwar@System5 ~]$
When I try modprobe via-rhine:

Code: Select all

[kkhalid@System5 ~]$ modprobe via-rhine modprobe: FATAL: Module via-rhine not found. [kkhalid@System5 ~]$ modprobe rhine modprobe: FATAL: Module rhine not found. [kkhalid@System5 ~]$

User avatar
toracat
Site Admin
Posts: 7518
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: How to configre network card on centos?

Post by toracat » 2014/08/29 00:11:12

The via-rhine driver is one of those that have been removed from RHEL/CentOS-7. See this upstream doc.

You can try asking ELRepo to see if the driver can be built for EL7.
CentOS Forum FAQ

Kunwar
Posts: 55
Joined: 2014/08/28 23:21:43

Re: How to configre network card on centos?

Post by Kunwar » 2014/08/29 00:42:38

I am sure what ELRepo is.... I am new to all this trying to practice what I learned.
Should I buy another NIC? if yes... Can you recommend me a supported model?
Last edited by Kunwar on 2014/08/29 00:56:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
toracat
Site Admin
Posts: 7518
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: How to configre network card on centos?

Post by toracat » 2014/08/29 00:55:14

Do you have to use CentOS 7? CentOS 6 is supported until Nov 2020 and most likely supports both of your NICs.
CentOS Forum FAQ

User avatar
toracat
Site Admin
Posts: 7518
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: How to configre network card on centos?

Post by toracat » 2014/08/29 00:56:10

By the way, ELRepo is here:

http://elrepo.org
CentOS Forum FAQ

Kunwar
Posts: 55
Joined: 2014/08/28 23:21:43

Re: How to configre network card on centos?

Post by Kunwar » 2014/08/29 01:02:48

No using CentOS 7 is not necessary, I just wanted to try the latest version plus load balancing is another feather that I want to try out. I can install another version as well if that solves the problem. What do you recommend?

If I use CentOS 6... Will it support both card.?

I am going to the tech market today and planing to but another NIC so I can try the Load Balancing feather. If replacing Via-Rhine with something like intel or broadcom is a solution, I have no issue buying another NIC. I will use this nick with another Ubuntu machine that I am trying out these days.

Kunwar
Posts: 55
Joined: 2014/08/28 23:21:43

Re: How to configre network card on centos?

Post by Kunwar » 2014/08/29 01:04:16

Thanks, I googled ELRepo and trying to learn more about them right now.

User avatar
toracat
Site Admin
Posts: 7518
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: How to configre network card on centos?

Post by toracat » 2014/08/29 01:07:54

If buying a new NIC, I'd go for Intel, not Broadcom.
CentOS Forum FAQ

Kunwar
Posts: 55
Joined: 2014/08/28 23:21:43

Re: How to configre network card on centos?

Post by Kunwar » 2014/08/29 01:45:46

Alright, I'll try both options and report back to you. I appreciate your help

Post Reply