MCE with Ryzen, stability

Issues related to hardware problems
jacscha
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017/11/29 14:06:55

Re: MCE with Ryzen, stability

Post by jacscha » 2017/12/06 17:06:57

I'm not overclocking, stability is most important for me since analyses sometimes take weeks.

I tried ram sticks in pairs and found two that worked fine (prime95 blend for a few hours and md5sum of larger files), and two that did not (failed both tests). I'm going to RMA the set giving me problems. I did not play around with voltages since the two good ones had no issues alone and the two bad ones did. If I have problems when going back to 4, I'll bump up the voltage.

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1324
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: MCE with Ryzen, stability

Post by hunter86_bg » 2017/12/06 19:33:34

Latest bios updates have resolved multiple issues with RAM, so update to newest possible.
As rysen support ECC , you might consider switch to ECC RAM /if yours doesn't have that feature/ and force the ecc kernel module.

jacscha
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017/11/29 14:06:55

Re: MCE with Ryzen, stability

Post by jacscha » 2018/04/26 18:34:37

I've solved this issue and thought I would post my experience in case anyone else has similar issues. The solution was to disable C6 State/Mode in the bios.

With this enabled, I get reliable hard freezes within hours unless I have a computationally intensive job running. With a job running, the system was stable for 60+days. Once I disabled that option, the system remains stable with no jobs running.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23482
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: MCE with Ryzen, stability

Post by TrevorH » 2018/04/26 18:46:50

7.5 should be in CR sometime very soon and it would be interesting to know if the problem persists with the new 3.10.0-862 kernels.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

desertcat
Posts: 434
Joined: 2014/08/07 02:17:29
Location: Tucson, AZ

Re: MCE with Ryzen, stability

Post by desertcat » 2018/04/27 00:09:57

jacscha wrote:I'm not overclocking, stability is most important for me since analyses sometimes take weeks.

I tried ram sticks in pairs and found two that worked fine (prime95 blend for a few hours and md5sum of larger files), and two that did not (failed both tests). I'm going to RMA the set giving me problems. I did not play around with voltages since the two good ones had no issues alone and the two bad ones did. If I have problems when going back to 4, I'll bump up the voltage.
For those of us of a "curious" nature

1) Who made your RAM and what was its rated MHz speed??

2) Is this more the maker of the mobo or model of mobo or is this a problem with ASUS mobo as well?? I'm looking at the ASUS X370-PRO mobo with a Ryzen 7 1800X CPU with 32 GB of GSkill TridentZ DDR4 2400 (PC4 19200).

3) As Ryzen is still a relatively "NEW" CPU. Have you checked to see if your particular mobo works well with Linux?!? There are some boards that a company makes that work will with Linux, and others not some much. I *try* to research which boards work well and which boards tend to have a finicky history running linux. The ASUS X370-PRO *seems* to work with Linux but there really is very little data out there so I have been more or less holding back. My current workstation has at least another 2-3 years left on it before I need to update it, but the next update will be to Ryzen, and I've actually speced out the above combo for a friend.

Your input will be valuable.

Thanks

jacscha
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017/11/29 14:06:55

Re: MCE with Ryzen, stability

Post by jacscha » 2018/04/27 01:02:17

The ram is Corsair Vengeance LPX (4x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15

The motherboard is ASRock AB350 Pro.

I had one bad stick of ram, and issues with C State. Since those were resolved, the systems has been fine.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23482
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: MCE with Ryzen, stability

Post by TrevorH » 2018/04/27 06:24:52

CentOS 7.5 is now in CR.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply