Centos 7.5 hpsa allow (how to save this option?)

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
mammuthus
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018/10/11 10:48:10

Centos 7.5 hpsa allow (how to save this option?)

Post by mammuthus » 2018/10/12 06:11:57

Hello. I have the old HP server with Smart Array controller.
Centos boots only with hpsa_allow_any=1 option.

I type this string every time after server reboot. But I want to save this option forever, what's why I want to edit modprobe.conf
In old versions of Centos, as I remember, there was modprobe.conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/ derectory. But now there is no such file after default installation of Centos 7.5.

So I have two questions:
1. In what config file I need to add this option?
2. What I need to do after that (/sbin/dracut -v --force or something like that?)

Thank you.

lightman47
Posts: 741
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: Centos 7.5 hpsa allow (how to save this option?)

Post by lightman47 » 2018/10/12 11:39:38

I put mine in /etc/default/grub in the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX entry, like this

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="rd.lvm.lv=centos/root rd.lvm.lv=centos/swap crashkernel=no rhgb quiet hpsa.hpsa_simple_mode=1 hpsa.hpsa_allow_any=1"
Then I rebuilt grub2 with grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
"The more I learn, the behinder I get"

mammuthus
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018/10/11 10:48:10

Re: Centos 7.5 hpsa allow (how to save this option?)

Post by mammuthus » 2018/10/15 06:38:23

Thank you, this is solution.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23894
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Centos 7.5 hpsa allow (how to save this option?)

Post by TrevorH » 2018/10/15 07:22:49

You could also put your options line in a .conf file under /etc/modprobe.d/
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply