Page 1 of 1

AMD CPU model - this hardware has not undergone upstream testing

Posted: 2019/08/01 13:48:19
by macpheeb
Got the above error after installing 3.10.0-957.27.2.el7.x86_64 and rebooting.
References elsewhere suggest that this is normally a non-fatal error, but my boot hung, with no further disk i/o seen.
Given that I sometimes get unrelated intermittent hangs while booting, this might be a coincidence, but tried a couple of times, and same each time.

Anyone else seeing this?

Athlon(tm) II X2 215 Processor (fam: 10, model: 06, stepping: 02)

Re: AMD CPU model - this hardware has not undergone upstream testing

Posted: 2019/08/01 14:40:00
by TrevorH
Check the other console and see if it is just a GUI problem - e.g. ctrl-alt-F2

Re: AMD CPU model - this hardware has not undergone upstream testing

Posted: 2019/08/12 21:34:17
by aptiva
macpheeb wrote:
2019/08/01 13:48:19
Got the above error after installing 3.10.0-957.27.2.el7.x86_64 and rebooting.
References elsewhere suggest that this is normally a non-fatal error, but my boot hung, with no further disk i/o seen.
Given that I sometimes get unrelated intermittent hangs while booting, this might be a coincidence, but tried a couple of times, and same each time.

Anyone else seeing this?

Athlon(tm) II X2 215 Processor (fam: 10, model: 06, stepping: 02)
Yep, same issue here.
Spotted the same identical message at every boot, since installing kernel 3.10.0-957.27.2.el7.x86_64.
Apart form that, though, no tangible issues detected.

AMD A8-7410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 Graphics (family: 22, model: 48, stepping: 1)

Re: AMD CPU model - this hardware has not undergone upstream testing

Posted: 2019/08/15 10:54:32
by macpheeb
This looks like it was a false alarm, as my most recent boot has been fine, with no issues.