KVM firewall network bridges

Issues related to configuring your network
User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 19977
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: KVM firewall network bridges

Postby TrevorH » 2017/08/10 11:14:34

Paste or pastebin all the /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-* files.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

itractus
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017/07/17 13:43:06

Re: KVM firewall network bridges

Postby itractus » 2017/08/10 12:15:08

I posted them all in:
https://pastebin.com/LDn57pa4

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 19977
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: KVM firewall network bridges

Postby TrevorH » 2017/08/10 12:22:18

You have a typo in DEVICE=brWAN with BRIDGING_OqPTS= which seems to have acquired a stray q.

Using DHCP on brWAN is almost certainly going to try to set the default route which is already set in brLAN with GATEWAY=. You can only have one default route.

You've got the same HWADDR= in both NAME=ethWAN and NAME="eth0"

What real device is brLAN meant to be using? It isn't referred to by either of your ifcfg-eth* files.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

itractus
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017/07/17 13:43:06

Re: KVM firewall network bridges

Postby itractus » 2017/08/10 12:26:58

brWAN --> This connection should be a bridge from internet to VM WAN adapter.
brLAN --> This is meant to be a connection from VM to host and containers

br LAN should be using nought but virtual adapters.

the stray "q" is due to my failure to copy and paste :|

As for the HW address, this might be because eth0 is enslaved to brWAN
here is how the network adapters are configured in my VM:
Image


Return to “CentOS 7 - Networking Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests