Can't reach my network firewall

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
salsugair
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015/04/13 08:32:30

Can't reach my network firewall

Post by salsugair » 2015/04/13 09:02:43

Hello first of all I apologies 50% of the problem is describing it correctly and this is the first server I set up so I may fail at that. Also the most common reply I saw is google before you ask and I may fail at that also.

I have multi vlans in my switch it is L3 enabled. I sat up few servers and they are up and running. My network set up is
Internet
Router
Firewall
Vlan 20
Vlan (XX) for this issue its 40
User or server

Im trying to set up IPA server with BIND. I read its recommended that I disable the networkmanager. So here is my file

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eno16777984

Code: Select all

TYPE="Ethernet"
BOOTPROTO="static"
DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6INIT="no"
IPV6_AUTOCONF="yes"
IPV6_DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV6_PEERDNS="yes"
IPV6_PEERROUTES="yes"
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
NAME="eth0"
UUID="480e806d-b257-4f08-af17-XXXXXXXXX"
ONBOOT="yes"
NM_CONTROLLED="no"
HWADDR="00:50:56:XX:XX:XX"
IPADDR0="10.10.40.20"
PREFIX0="24"
GATEWAY0="10.10.40.1"
DNS1="10.10.20.10"
The command I use to stop the network manager

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl disable NetworkManager.service
sudo systemctl stop NetworkManager.service
Before I do that I was able to ping 10.10.40.1, 10.10.20.1 and 10.10.20.10 now im not able to ping 10.10.20.1 not 10.10.20.10. The last is my network firewall without it im not able to reach the internet. By the way I have other devices on the same network and they are able to ping the firewall and the firewall L3 gate way and reach the internet

Thank you for reading and trying to help a noob

salsugair
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015/04/13 08:32:30

Re: Can't reach my network firewall

Post by salsugair » 2015/04/14 07:40:27

hi again,
i tested on a new server,
as soon i stop the network Manager and restart the network service i start getting this issue.
clean install with network manager on i can ping vlan 20
stop network manager and disable

Code: Select all

connect: Network is unreachable
so the networking manager was doing something that i should do manually in the config files im not sure what is it

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: Can't reach my network firewall

Post by gerald_clark » 2015/04/14 12:45:13


salsugair
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015/04/13 08:32:30

Re: Can't reach my network firewall

Post by salsugair » 2015/04/14 13:52:02

hi, thanks a lot for your time never thought that taking out the extra lines would change something but it did
i changed my ifcfg to the following and worked perfectly,

Code: Select all

DEVICE="eno16777984"
ONBOOT=yes
BOOTPROTO=static
IPADDR=10.10.40.20
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=10.10.40.1

Post Reply