ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
Mrxlazuardin
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011/04/17 15:27:08

ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Post by Mrxlazuardin » 2016/12/26 19:50:58

Hi,

I find following case on my installation. I do teaming and then make VLAN on that teaming. Following is my ifcfg-team0.1000 configuration.

Code: Select all

DEVICE=team0.1000
ONBOOT=yes
MTU=9000
VLAN=yes
BOOTPROTO=static
IPADDR=192.168.0.106
PREFIX=24
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
ZONE=trusted
After I do "ifdown team0.1000 && ifup team0.1000" or "systemctl restart network" or "service network restart", my ifcfg-team0.1000 configuration is modified like following and then team0.1000 become default (public) zone member. It seem that ifdown and/or ifup process ignore and modify ZONE clause. I know that ifcfg-eth and ifcfg-post doing some modification to ifcfg-* file with firewall-cmd but it should use ZONE clause, right.

Code: Select all

DEVICE=team0.1000
ONBOOT=yes
MTU=9000
VLAN=yes
BOOTPROTO=static
IPADDR=192.168.0.106
PREFIX=24
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
ZONE=
What happen with my installation? Is this CentOS 7 or RHEL 7 bug? I'm using latest "yum upgrade" version.

Best regards,

hunter86_bg
Posts: 2019
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Post by hunter86_bg » 2016/12/26 19:59:56

Have you tried with this:

Code: Select all

firewall-cmd --permanent --zone=trusted --add-interface=team0.1000 && firewall-cmd --reload && systemctl restart network

Mrxlazuardin
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011/04/17 15:27:08

Re: ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Post by Mrxlazuardin » 2016/12/27 04:16:48

Hi Hunter,

I have done yout suggestion before but still get same result. I have done following too, but still get same result.

Code: Select all

firewall-cmd --permanent --zone=trusted --change-interface=team0.1000 && firewall-cmd --reload && systemctl restart network
Any other idea?

Best regards,

hunter86_bg
Posts: 2019
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Post by hunter86_bg » 2016/12/27 08:35:26

Do you really need to disable the Network Manager ? Have you tried with it ?

Mrxlazuardin
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011/04/17 15:27:08

Re: ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Post by Mrxlazuardin » 2016/12/27 09:18:36

Hi Hunter,

NetworkManager is not installed on my installation.

Best regards,

hunter86_bg
Posts: 2019
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Post by hunter86_bg » 2016/12/27 09:50:27

The default method for management of network connections for RHEL/CentOS 7 is Network Manager. In very rare cases the NM cannot be used (for example teaming device connected to Bridge device).

Try installing and configuring it, if possible.

Edit: replacing NM with Bridge device

ezplanet
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017/01/24 11:21:34

Re: ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Post by ezplanet » 2017/01/24 11:25:01

I have exactly the same problem.

I set the interface zone correctly, everything is fine until the next reboot when the interface zone is set to blank in ifcfg file.

It is hard to debug also because a network and firewall restart do not trigger the issue.
It happens only on reboot.

I opened the following bug: https://bugs.centos.org/view.php?id=12696

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33228
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: ifcfg Ignoring & Resetting ZONE

Post by TrevorH » 2017/01/24 13:56:58

You need to yum update to get the later firewalld package - 0.4.3.2-8.1
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply