[Solved] Wifi Networks not Listed

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
brijeshganapathy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017/11/16 16:45:03

[Solved] Wifi Networks not Listed

Post by brijeshganapathy » 2017/11/17 17:38:53

Hello All

I am new to Linux

I just installed Cent OS 7

Everything is working fine, except for Wireless Network.

I use a Broadcom BCM 4312 Wireless Chipset for which i installed driver using the method https://elrepo.org/tiki/wl-kmod


After the installation, Wifi option poped up in the GUI, which was not visible earlier.

The issue now is that Wireless networks are not getting listed.

For your reference,

Code: Select all

[Brijesh@localhost ~]$ nmcli general status
STATE      CONNECTIVITY  WIFI-HW  WIFI     WWAN-HW  WWAN    
connected  full          enabled  enabled  enabled  enabled


Brijesh@localhost ~]$ nmcli connection show
NAME                UUID                                  TYPE            DEVICE      
Wired connection 1  3c8886b9-3ad3-3d45-a3ca-a3d422c1fa0d  802-3-ethernet  enp0s29f7u3 
virbr0              36874c1e-52fc-48c2-af15-8feb6075b741  bridge          virbr0      
enp9s0              f67d6520-7d34-4eb3-a7d9-6258210bfb77  802-3-ethernet  --    

[Brijesh@localhost ~]$ nmcli device status
DEVICE       TYPE      STATE         CONNECTION         
virbr0       bridge    connected     virbr0             
enp0s29f7u3  ethernet  connected     Wired connection 1 
wlp12s0      wifi      disconnected  --                 
enp9s0       ethernet  unavailable   --                 
lo           loopback  unmanaged     --                 
virbr0-nic   tun       unmanaged     -- 
Attaching Screen shots,

Image

Image

Image


Any pointers would greatly appreciated
Last edited by brijeshganapathy on 2017/11/18 19:23:37, edited 1 time in total.

sidusnare
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017/11/15 18:19:49

Re: Wifi Networks not Listed

Post by sidusnare » 2017/11/17 19:55:38

You will want to try something like:

Code: Select all

nmcli dev wifi list
and

Code: Select all

nmcli dev wifi con "myssid" password "myssidpassword"

brijeshganapathy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017/11/16 16:45:03

Re: Wifi Networks not Listed

Post by brijeshganapathy » 2017/11/18 07:00:07

sidusnare wrote:You will want to try something like:

Code: Select all

nmcli dev wifi list
and

Code: Select all

nmcli dev wifi con "myssid" password "myssidpassword"

Thank you for the response


i have tried the following commands, no luck

sidusnare
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017/11/15 18:19:49

Re: Wifi Networks not Listed

Post by sidusnare » 2017/11/18 14:04:22

What happens?

sidusnare
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017/11/15 18:19:49

Re: Wifi Networks not Listed

Post by sidusnare » 2017/11/18 14:19:37

what does this give you:

Code: Select all

nmcli radio wifi on
nmcli device wifi rescan
nmcli device wifi list

brijeshganapathy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017/11/16 16:45:03

Re: Wifi Networks not Listed

Post by brijeshganapathy » 2017/11/18 15:36:22

sidusnare wrote:what does this give you:

Code: Select all

nmcli radio wifi on
nmcli device wifi rescan
nmcli device wifi list

Thank you for your response.

Here is the requested output

Code: Select all

[Brijesh@localhost ~]$ nmcli radio wifi on
[Brijesh@localhost ~]$ nmcli device wifi rescan
Error: Scanning not allowed immediately following previous scan.
[Brijesh@localhost ~]$ nmcli device wifi list
*  SSID  MODE  CHAN  RATE  SIGNAL  BARS  SECURITY 


After analysis, i found out that the wl module is not getting loaded because of secure boot being enabled

Code: Select all

kernel: wl: module verification failed: signature and/or required key missing - tainting kernel

As far as i understand, secure boot is enabled in UEFI.

My laptop is pretty old and doesn't have UEFI system.

I came across this article https://access.redhat.com/documentation ... ecure-boot

I am not a very advanced user. Pls guide me on how to add the module "wl" signature

My laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1545.

Thank You

brijeshganapathy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017/11/16 16:45:03

[Solved] Wifi Networks not Listed

Post by brijeshganapathy » 2017/11/18 19:22:27

I just realized that i had turned off wireless through one of the hardware Switches. The ordeal is over. I am happily composing and posting the message wireless. :D

Thank you all for your support. Appreciate it

Post Reply