NIC team to 2 different switches

Issues related to configuring your network
Kurwen
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018/01/25 10:55:40

NIC team to 2 different switches

Postby Kurwen » 2018/01/25 11:20:13

Hello,

I have a CentOS 7.2 installed on a storage server with 8 nics, I need to connect the server to 2 different switches as follows:

Code: Select all

                |                                     |
                |port2                           port2|
          +-----+----+                          +-----+----+
          |          |                          |          |
          | switch A +                          + switch B |
          |          |                          |          |
          +-----+----+                          +-----++---+
                |port1,2,3,4               port1,2,3,4|
                |             +-------+               |
                +-------------+ host1 +---------------+
                         eth0 +-------+ eth4
                         eth1           eth5
                         eth2           eth6
                         eth3           eth7


Only 1 vlan, and the same IP for all the nics. I mean, the server must have only 1 IP.

Lets say we have 2 teams:
group1 -> eth0,eth1,eth2,eth3
group2 -> eth4,eth5,eth6,eth7

group2 will be group1 active backup and viceversa; each group should work internally as loadbalace or lacp (I still need to decide it).

I've already read the old bonding module documentation, and I know something similar can be done using broadcast conf. but is not exactly what I need, I read the teamd documentation too but I was not able to find any reference to the setup I need.

I already configured a simple activebackup team with all nics, so I know the basics.

Can this be achieved with ony one time, two teams or not achievet at all?

thanks and regards.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 22591
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: NIC team to 2 different switches

Postby TrevorH » 2018/01/25 15:48:14

I believe teamd supports bonding more than 2 links at a time. Never tried to do so as my one experiment with teamd made me run back to bonding as quickly as I could.

You'll want to yum update on there as 7.2 is massively out of date. 7.4 is current, 7.2 is more than 2 years old.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Kurwen
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018/01/25 10:55:40

Re: NIC team to 2 different switches

Postby Kurwen » 2018/01/25 16:46:46

Thanks TrevorH, I'm aware about the 7.2 situation, but I need that version because some specific hardware.

the point is that I need a server just with 1 IP addres and ony one VLAN, with all its network cards (8 in total) hardwired to 2 different switches, 4 to one switch and 4 to the other. The cards connected to switch1 will be active and if this switch fails the cards connected to the switch2 should become availble.

do you know if is any way to achieve this?

thanks and regards.

Kurwen
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018/01/25 10:55:40

Re: NIC team to 2 different switches

Postby Kurwen » 2018/02/06 11:49:10

Hello,

Finally I tried to configure a mode 6 bonding, It's working,

thanks.