CENTOS7 VPN ORACLE DISPLAY

Issues related to configuring your network
ouxoux2

CENTOS7 VPN ORACLE DISPLAY

Post by ouxoux2 » 2018/03/01 15:47:06

Hi everybody,

I am new in the field of linux, oracle, centos and servers.
Before i post this, i allready have read many solutions that didnt solve my problems. Note that as i am a beginner i do not understand yet all the interactions in the system.

So i want to install oracle 12c Release 2 on a centOS server with GUI. I need GUI for the configuration and installation of oracle.
I proceeded as follows:

I- I first have installed a VM localy on my computer to try and test, i followed a tutorial from tecmint: i installed centos with GUI, when i was to install oracle i had a problem with the display variable that wasn't initialized, but the solution were easy one had to set it to 0.0 and than it worked, i have installaed oracle and everything was fine.

II- I wanted to do the same but directly after having installed the VM on the server, therefore i did the same thing, i configurated VNC to allow the communication from the server to my computer, this all worked good, i did everything as i did while it was localy installed. When i connect with VNC and i trx to run the oracle installation file, i had the same error as localy, i then tried to solve it the same way but that did not work.

Now i want to ask one question about how you think one can solve it? so someone have an idea?
Until now, I understood that centOS is our server, we instslled VNC to allow graphical communication with the local pc, this worked very good, but i dont understand well the display variabel. I read that this was about to set up the path for the graphical representation, but the thing that i dont understand is that the graphical representation works already good with VPN.

TrevorH
Site Admin

Re: CENTOS7 VPN ORACLE DISPLAY

Post by TrevorH » 2018/03/01 16:29:38