Page 1 of 1

Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Posted: 2018/06/11 12:41:51
by solidblueliquid
Hi everyone,

I've been trying to configure a IPv6 setup on one of my VPS, its new build since i've decided to rule everything else out than my mistakes! So I'm using IPv4 and IPv6 but would really like to drop 4 and just use 6 if i can.

The plan is to offer dedicated IPv6 on this server to clients via cPanel. So here's my current setup, any ideas what's wrong;

Code: Select all

[root@voyager network-scripts]# cat ifcfg-eth0
TYPE="Ethernet"
PROXY_METHOD="none"
BROWSER_ONLY="no"
BOOTPROTO="none"
DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6INIT="yes"
IPV6_AUTOCONF="yes"
IPV6_DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE="stable-privacy"
NAME="eth0"
UUID="6fbce7a4-5559-4283-a738-44e36f071d37"
DEVICE="eth0"
ONBOOT="yes"
IPADDR="xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx"
PREFIX="26"
GATEWAY="xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx"
DNS1="8.8.8.8"
DNS2="8.8.4.4"
IPV6_PRIVACY="no"
IPV6ADDR="2a02:5300:1:6::2/64"
DNS3="2001:4860:4860::8888"
DNS4="2001:4860:4860::8844"
IPV6_PEERDNS="no"
[root@voyager network-scripts]#
I've blanked out the IPv4 as they work

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Posted: 2018/06/11 12:51:26
by avij
If you are going to set up a static IPv6 address, you should set IPV6_AUTOCONF to "no". You should also have IPV6_DEFAULTGW somewhere, set to your ISP's IPv6 gateway address.

How does your current config not work? Can you ping6 your default gateway?

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Posted: 2018/06/12 10:12:17
by solidblueliquid

Code: Select all


TYPE="Ethernet"
PROXY_METHOD="none"
BROWSER_ONLY="no"
BOOTPROTO="none"
DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6INIT="yes"
IPV6_AUTOCONF="no"
IPV6_DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE="stable-privacy"
NAME="eth0"
UUID="6fbce7a4-5559-4283-a738-44e36f071d37"
DEVICE="eth0"
ONBOOT="yes"
IPADDR="xxxxxxxx"
PREFIX="xxxx"
GATEWAY="xxxxxxx"
DNS1="8.8.8.8"
DNS2="8.8.4.4"
IPV6_PRIVACY="no"
IPV6ADDR="2a02:5300:1:6::2"
DNS3="2001:4860:4860::8888"
DNS4="2001:4860:4860::8844"
IPV6_DEFAULTGW="2a02:5300:1:6::1"
IPV6_PEERDNS="yes"
NM_CONTROLLED=no
So i changed it as you said then i tried a ping to google.com and it times out, if i traceroute6 it... i just get


traceroute to ipv6.google.com (2a00:1450:4009:814::200e), 30 hops max, 80 byte packets
1 * * *
2 * * *
3 * * *
4 * * *

Ideas?

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Posted: 2018/06/13 12:19:00
by avij
Maybe you need to add /64 to your IPv6 address like you had initially. And can you ping6 your default gateway?

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Posted: 2018/06/18 04:18:04
by hunter86_bg
Also, are you sure that DNS3 and DNS4 are valid entries?

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Posted: 2018/06/18 10:51:18
by TrevorH
They are not. It looks for DNS1 and DNS2, not 3 or 4.