Network without NetworkManager?

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
User avatar
W8WCA
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006/03/26 04:49:57
Location: /usa/oh/cmh
Contact:

Network without NetworkManager?

Post by W8WCA » 2018/07/19 12:08:39

I have a problem in that with my system I have to systemctl restart NetworkManager now and then - as I loose the internet connection
I have C7 installed with 2 NIC's running as a gateway-router (That all works fine)

It is just that now and then (3 times a week or so) I loose connection to the internet and as soon as I restart netowrk and or NetworkManager it works fine

I run a NameCaching Name Server on it also

I have tried to get it to work without NetworkManager ( disable and stop it) but I cannot make my network go:
ext NIC:

TYPE=Ethernet
PROXY_METHOD=none
BROWSER_ONLY=no
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
DEFROUTE=yes
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=yes
IPV6INIT=yes
IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes
IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no
IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE=stable-privacy
NAME=p4p1
UUID=545eb642-a2e4-4e66-~blah
DEVICE=p4p1
ONBOOT=yes
DNS1=192.168.0.1
DNS2=isp dns
DNS3=8.8.8.8
IPV6_PRIVACY=no
NM_CONTROLLED=no

int NIC:
TYPE=Ethernet
PROXY_METHOD=none
BROWSER_ONLY=no
BOOTPROTO=none
DEFROUTE=yes
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=yes
IPV6INIT=yes
IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes
IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no
IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE=stable-privacy
NAME=p4p2
UUID=7192fa27-525f-4040-~blah
DEVICE=p4p2
ONBOOT=yes
DNS1=192.168.0.1
DNS2=8.8.8.8
DOMAIN=my.local.domain
IPV6_PRIVACY=no
IPADDR=192.168.0.1
PREFIX=24
GATEWAY=192.168.0.1
NM_CONTROLLED=no

any ideas?

added: For What it Is Worth:
I have the exact same problem if I try to use Mint Mate 18 or 19.


I looked and cannot find any comments about this

Or for that matter I only find a few Posts about network dropping and having to restart NetworkManager
Cheers Charlie

iiwii
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014/01/15 20:53:41

Re: Network without NetworkManager?

Post by iiwii » 2018/07/19 15:37:57

Personally I think NetworkManager blows for servers, I prefer it for laptops.

I recommend not doing this remotely, in case the connection drops.

Code: Select all

 systemctl stop NetworkManager
 systemctl disable NetworkManager
 systemctl mask NetworkManager
Open up another terminal session.

Code: Select all

journalctl -f
and go back to your first session and

Code: Select all

systemctl restart network
If it does not work can you post the output of the journalctl -f from the other session.

what happens when you,

Code: Select all

ping 8.8.8.8

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33202
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Network without NetworkManager?

Post by TrevorH » 2018/07/19 15:44:03

Why do you have your default route set up to go via the internal interface?
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

User avatar
W8WCA
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006/03/26 04:49:57
Location: /usa/oh/cmh
Contact:

Re: Network without NetworkManager?

Post by W8WCA » 2018/07/19 16:27:26

iiwii wrote:
2018/07/19 15:37:57
Personally I think NetworkManager blows for servers, I prefer it for laptops.

I recommend not doing this remotely, in case the connection drops.

Code: Select all

 systemctl stop NetworkManager
 systemctl disable NetworkManager
 systemctl mask NetworkManager
Open up another terminal session.

Code: Select all

journalctl -f
and go back to your first session and

Code: Select all

systemctl restart network
If it does not work can you post the output of the journalctl -f from the other session.

what happens when you,

Code: Select all

ping 8.8.8.8

When I do all this: I cannot ping 8.8.8.8 <---- at first

But after I did a reboot It works now! ??

https://pastebin.com/Q00SjCD8
Last edited by W8WCA on 2018/07/19 16:37:38, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers Charlie

User avatar
W8WCA
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006/03/26 04:49:57
Location: /usa/oh/cmh
Contact:

Re: Network without NetworkManager?

Post by W8WCA » 2018/07/19 16:31:24

TrevorH wrote:
2018/07/19 15:44:03
Why do you have your default route set up to go via the internal interface?
I 'think' that is an oops I just modified the files NetworkManager made
Cheers Charlie

User avatar
W8WCA
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006/03/26 04:49:57
Location: /usa/oh/cmh
Contact:

Re: Network without NetworkManager?

Post by W8WCA » 2018/07/19 16:49:02

I had tried all of this except I did not notice the default route set up to go via the internal interface

But it is now working!

One not so great thing we have out here in the Corn Fields of Ohio: Our only internet is wireless to a Corn Silo on a farm not too far way.

Our internet is so so at best
Cheers Charlie

iiwii
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014/01/15 20:53:41

Re: Network without NetworkManager?

Post by iiwii » 2018/07/19 17:19:17

Does that mean after reboot networking is working?

User avatar
W8WCA
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006/03/26 04:49:57
Location: /usa/oh/cmh
Contact:

Re: Network without NetworkManager?

Post by W8WCA » 2018/07/19 17:29:37

iiwii wrote:
2018/07/19 17:19:17
Does that mean after reboot networking is working?
Yes it is now working with just network.service

Maybe it was the proper Sequence - or even the line (DEFROUTE=yes - I chnaged to =no) in my ifcfg-p4p2 (local Network)
Cheers Charlie

User avatar
W8WCA
Posts: 9
Joined: 2006/03/26 04:49:57
Location: /usa/oh/cmh
Contact:

Re: Network without NetworkManager?

Post by W8WCA » 2018/07/19 17:59:08

There were some complaints on boot:

one is from teamviewer service
I made a change or 2

in /etc/systemd/teamviewerd.service I changed the commented out lines to lines below (I saw a post somewhere about that and tired it - it worked
#After = NetworkManager-wait-online.service network.target network-online.target dbus.service
#Wants = NetworkManager-wait-online.service network-online.target
After=network-online.target network.target network-online.target dbus.service
Wants=network-online.target network-online.target

in etc/systemd/network-online.target.wants/NetworkManager-wait-online.service

I have no idea what I am doing there but I remarked out some lines:

[Unit]
Description=Network Manager Wait Online
Documentation=man:nm-online(1)
#Requisite=NetworkManager.service
#After=NetworkManager.service
#Before=network-online.target

[Service]
Type=oneshot
#ExecStart=/usr/bin/nm-online -s -q --timeout=30
RemainAfterExit=yes

[Install]
WantedBy=network-online.target


It does boot network is working fine

But I probably need to dig into the lines I commented out more!
Cheers Charlie

Post Reply