Team a Team?

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
ghostspace
Posts: 7
Joined: 2006/03/30 02:34:31

Team a Team?

Post by ghostspace » 2019/03/05 17:57:28

Is it possible to Team a Team?

I'm looking to take 4 interfaces and 802.3ad 2 pair and then loadbalance the 2 resulting teams.

so for example:

team1: lacp
em1
em3

team2: lacp
em2
em4

team0: loadbalance
team1
team2

Has anyone done this or can help me configure my system to do so?

Thanks

hunter86_bg
Posts: 2019
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Team a Team?

Post by hunter86_bg » 2019/03/08 13:58:05

I think this is not possible.

ghostspace
Posts: 7
Joined: 2006/03/30 02:34:31

Re: Team a Team?

Post by ghostspace » 2019/03/13 19:48:18

Looks like this is working:


cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-team0
DEVICE=team0
DEVICETYPE=Team
ONBOOT=yes
BOOTPROTO=none
IPADDR=10.1.57.47
PREFIX=26
GATEWAY=10.1.57.1
TEAM_CONFIG='{"runner": {"name": "loadbalance"}, "link_watch": {"name": "ethtool"}}'
DNS=8.8.8.8
EOF

cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-lacp0
DEVICE=lacp0
DEVICETYPE=Team
ONBOOT=yes
TEAM_MASTER=team0
TEAM_CONFIG='{"runner": {"name": "lacp", "active": true, "fast_rate": true, "tx_hash": ["eth", "ipv4", "ipv6"]},"link_watch": {"name": "ethtool"}}'
EOF

cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-lacp1
DEVICE=lacp1
DEVICETYPE=Team
ONBOOT=yes
TEAM_MASTER=team0
TEAM_CONFIG='{"runner": {"name": "lacp", "active": true, "fast_rate": true, "tx_hash": ["eth", "ipv4", "ipv6"]},"link_watch": {"name": "ethtool"}}'
EOF

cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-em1
DEVICE=em1
DEVICETYPE=TeamPort
ONBOOT=yes
TEAM_MASTER=lacp0
EOF

cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-em2
DEVICE=em2
DEVICETYPE=TeamPort
ONBOOT=yes
TEAM_MASTER=lacp0
EOF

cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-em3
DEVICE=em3
DEVICETYPE=TeamPort
ONBOOT=yes
TEAM_MASTER=lacp1
EOF

cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-em4
DEVICE=em4
DEVICETYPE=TeamPort
ONBOOT=yes
TEAM_MASTER=lacp1
EOF


Only issue I see is checking port speed of the 2 lacp links:


# teamnl lacp0 ports
3: em2: up 1000Mbit FD
2: em1: up 1000Mbit FD
# teamnl lacp1 ports
5: em4: up 1000Mbit FD
4: em3: up 1000Mbit FD
# teamnl team0 ports
47: lacp0: up 0Mbit HD
46: lacp1: up 0Mbit HD


I don't think this is an issue but if anyone has any feedback please share.

Thanks

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33202
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Team a Team?

Post by TrevorH » 2019/03/13 20:30:15

What's the point of doing it? I do not think it will make any difference to the throughput or the reliability over a single LACP bond with 4 members in the first place.
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

ghostspace
Posts: 7
Joined: 2006/03/30 02:34:31

Re: Team a Team?

Post by ghostspace » 2019/03/13 21:16:14

You can't bond/team (aggregate) 2 interfaces on one switch and 2 on another... will cause spanning tree issues.
So this is to aggregate 2 ports on one switch and load balance/failover to the other if needed (probably should be activebackup)

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33202
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Team a Team?

Post by TrevorH » 2019/03/13 21:39:18

You can't bond/team (aggregate) 2 interfaces on one switch and 2 on another... will cause spanning tree issues.
Err, yes, you can. I do it. Maybe your switches don't support it but many do.
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

hunter86_bg
Posts: 2019
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Team a Team?

Post by hunter86_bg » 2019/03/18 00:24:39

I agree, many switches support what you need and from CentOS perspective is easier to maintain and support.

Post Reply