[SOLVED] SELinux preventing me from accessing external disk

Support for security such as Firewalls and securing linux
vuarnet

[SOLVED] SELinux preventing me from accessing external disk

Post by vuarnet » 2015/03/27 18:00:08

Hello, I'm new to SELinux, but I'm picking it up quite quickly thanks to the new tools in CentOS 7 for troubleshooting. Here's some background:

I'm running a fully-patched version of CentOS 7 64-bit using the Nautilus file manager (gnome as desktop)
I have no issues accessing the external hard drive until I set my user to "staff_u" context
My current user is mapped to the selinux user "staff_u" and I allow my user sudo, but I also have a backup root user until I get all this figured out (I've locked myself out of my system several times without a root user and no sudo permissions a few times now...)

When I set my user to "staff_u", I get the following when I try to access my hard drive:

"The location could not be displayed.
You do not have the permissions necessary to view the contents of "[Hard drive name]".
[OK]"

No AVC denials pop up, unless I try to change permissions as non-root.

When I look at permissions, it says "me" as the owner, and the access is "create and delete files", but the security content is:

system_u:object_r:file_t:s0

Because there is no AVC denial here, I'm having a difficult time getting it to work.

When I set SELinux to permissive, everything works fine -- I can r/w to the drive just fine. When I turn it back to "enforcing", I get the same denial where I can't read or write to it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Last edited by vuarnet on 2015/03/30 13:12:29, edited 1 time in total.

gerald_clark

Re: SELinux preventing me from accessing external hard drive

Post by gerald_clark » 2015/03/27 21:32:01

Hard drives don't have names.
Logical devices ( LVM or partitions) hold filesystems that are mounted to directories.