Failed to open \EFI\centos\grubx64.efi - Not Found

Support for security such as Firewalls and securing linux
User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23871
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: I believe CentOS repos have been compromised

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/29 20:41:54

Please don't resort to insults.

I am asking about the iso filename as, at the present time it appears to me that you have some sort of problem with a UEFI install. Since the problem only occurs after updating the install, it is necessary to know which iso you installed from so that someone trying to replicate your problem can start from the same place. If you did your install with the 7.4 minimal iso and then updated to 7.5 then it's extremely possible that my install with the 7.5 iso and an update to a later 7.5 set of packages might not hit the same bug - if bug it is.

And, yes, given that I've been doing computers since 1981 and have variously been involved in low level systems programming all the way through to systems adminstration, I think I know what a VM is. I also know what Hyper-V is though I do not have access to a hypervisor that can be used to replicate your exact install. My install was also to a VM though of a different type to yours.

Thank you for the screenshot showing the problem. This pretty firmly narrows it down to being a problem with the latest grub and/or shim packages IMO.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23871
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: I believe CentOS repos have been compromised

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/29 21:00:16

What is the output from rpm -q grub2-efi-x64 both immediately post-initial-install and then again post-update but prior to the reboot that gets the error?
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23871
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: I believe CentOS repos have been compromised

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/29 21:02:32

Second minimal install done. This time from the 7.5.1804 minimal iso itself and installed in UEFI mode. Changed the CentOS-Base.repo urls to point to the {os,updates} directories on the second mirror in your list prior to yum update - 84 packages updated, 1 newly installed kernel. Reboots fine.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

enseva
Posts: 25
Joined: 2018/09/29 18:30:50

Re: I believe CentOS repos have been compromised

Post by enseva » 2018/09/29 21:20:53

Can you update the topic title to reflect something re: grub issues?

I've found that it appears the grubx64.efi may have changed locations, but not sure. If this is the case I'm not clear why a symlink or something to resolve backward compatibility wouldn't have been used.

I'll try the commands you asked and report back in a few.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23871
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Failed to open \EFI\centos\grubx64.efi - Not Found

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/29 21:29:48

In the meantime I have completed re-installs and updates from the 3rd and 4th mirrors on your list and have no problems.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

enseva
Posts: 25
Joined: 2018/09/29 18:30:50

Re: Failed to open \EFI\centos\grubx64.efi - Not Found

Post by enseva » 2018/09/29 21:46:57

Post-install, no update, rebooted:

[root@localhost ~]# rpm -q grub2-efi-x64
grub2-efi-x64-2.02-0.65.el7.centos.2.x86_64

After update install:
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -q grub2-efi-x64
grub2-efi-x64-2.02-0.65.el7.centos.2.x86_64

It appears this issue is related to Hyper-V and the creation of templates which require the following to be run before using that VM as a base for the template:

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot/efi --no-nvram --removable

I'm not clear why a yum update would result in breaking the EFI config in that case, though.

Installing directly from ISO does not have the issue. It would appear then that something in the latest update still changed something with grub, but I think your rpm query suggests otherwise.

Thoughts?

enseva
Posts: 25
Joined: 2018/09/29 18:30:50

Re: Failed to open \EFI\centos\grubx64.efi - Not Found

Post by enseva » 2018/09/29 21:47:30

TrevorH wrote:
2018/09/29 21:29:48
In the meantime I have completed re-installs and updates from the 3rd and 4th mirrors on your list and have no problems.
Sorry, I wouldn't waste the time. I don't think it's the update. Unless one of those mirrors has something different in /boot.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23871
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Failed to open \EFI\centos\grubx64.efi - Not Found

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/29 21:50:23

I'm not clear why a yum update would result in breaking the EFI config in that case, though.
Especially since, unless it's my eyes, your rpm -q output appears to be the same for both queries.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23871
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Failed to open \EFI\centos\grubx64.efi - Not Found

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/29 21:57:43

So, after looking through the list of packages that you get to update, the only 2 there that look like they might be relevant to this problem are mokutil and shim-x64 and the latter would be my guess. Try recreating the problem only this time, instead of running a yum update run yum --exclude=shim-x64 update and then reboot and see if it still does.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

enseva
Posts: 25
Joined: 2018/09/29 18:30:50

Re: Failed to open \EFI\centos\grubx64.efi - Not Found

Post by enseva » 2018/09/29 22:33:06

TrevorH wrote:
2018/09/29 21:57:43
So, after looking through the list of packages that you get to update, the only 2 there that look like they might be relevant to this problem are mokutil and shim-x64 and the latter would be my guess. Try recreating the problem only this time, instead of running a yum update run yum --exclude=shim-x64 update and then reboot and see if it still does.
Thank you for the help, and sorry if I was a jerk.

I'm testing this now.

Post Reply