Repositories for CentOS Stream

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
alex.theoto

Repositories for CentOS Stream

Post by alex.theoto » 2019/11/03 15:15:33

Hello,
I have some knowledge about Fedora's repositories, like how to config and install rpmfusion packages and so on.
Now I've installed CentOS Stream from netboot iso and I have some questions.
I have the following question.
After the installation, the repolist has enabled the AppStream, BaseOS and extras. But I see that these repo are for CentOS8.
So I installed the 'centos-release-stream' from the 'extra' repo.
Now my question is do I have to disable the AppStream, BaseOS and extras from the CentOS8 version and use the stream's repo?
I see that the non-stream repo has more packages but the available one are duplicates with the stream's repo.
My concern is that if I remove these repo, I cannot install the 'workstation' group because of the missing packages.
And will the updates for the stream version will be on stream* repositories? Can I have both stream and non-stream repo enables with no conflict?

Thank you in advance.

EDIT: During installation, I chose the minimal installation, not the workstation.
Last edited by alex.theoto on 2019/11/04 14:41:36, edited 1 time in total.

TrevorH
Forum Moderator

Re: Repositories for CentOS Stream

Post by TrevorH » 2019/11/03 16:19:38

Now I've installed CentOS Stream from netboot iso and I have some questions.
I'm not sure you did. It sounds from the rest of your post like you pointed the netinstaller to the CentOS 8.0.1905 repos not the "Stream" ones.

I'd suggest using the full DVD not a netinstall.
CentOS 6 will die in November 2020 - migrate sooner rather than later!
CentOS 5 has been EOL for nearly 3 years and should no longer be used for anything!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

alex.theoto

Post by alex.theoto » 2019/11/04 14:01:13

Now I used the 'CentOS-Stream-x86_64-dvd1.iso'