Bridge - not working

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
oSAlj
Posts: 12
Joined: 2019/10/26 12:32:19

Bridge - not working

Post by oSAlj » 2019/11/12 17:01:23

Hi,
system CentOS 8

config for br0 and enp1s0

# cat ifcfg-br0

Code: Select all

DEVICE="br0"
TYPE="Bridge"
BOOTPROTO="static"
DELAY="0"
STP="off"
ONBOOT="yes"
IPADDR="192.168.0.5"
NETMASK="255.255.255.0"
GATEWAY="192.168.0.1"
DEFROUTE="yes"
NM_CONTROLLED="no"
IPV6INIT="no"
DNS1="8.8.8.8"
# cat ifcfg-enp1s0

Code: Select all

DEVICE="enp1s0"
TYPE="Ethernet"
ONBOOT="yes"
BRIDGE="br0"
After restarting the system, the bridge does not work.

Picture of the command ip a
Image

The longer I try to configure CentOS 8, the more it seems to me that this system is not suitable for a server.
I think I will choose CentOS 7 or Debian 10 as the host system.

User avatar
jlehtone
Posts: 2432
Joined: 2007/12/11 08:17:33
Location: Finland

Re: Bridge - not working

Post by jlehtone » 2019/11/12 17:35:18

Bridge definitely works in CentOS 8: viewtopic.php?f=56&t=72441
NM_CONTROLLED="no"
A default CentOS 8 installation does not have any ifup*-scripts in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts.
Either they are elsewhere, have to be installed, or you should use NetworkManager.

vamfoom
Posts: 39
Joined: 2014/05/24 01:28:37

Re: Bridge - not working

Post by vamfoom » 2019/11/12 17:39:08

I have the same problem with bridging. I used the nmcli command-line tool to configure it according to the examples/tutorials. Try this and see if this works for you: https://www.linuxtechi.com/install-conf ... ment-16928

I'm still trying to figure out why it doens't work. I've configured bridges from centos 5 through 7. They changed it in CentOS 8 to use NetworkManager. I'm still struggling to get this to work.

oSAlj
Posts: 12
Joined: 2019/10/26 12:32:19

Re: Bridge - not working

Post by oSAlj » 2019/11/12 17:39:55

I am using NetworkManager

User avatar
jlehtone
Posts: 2432
Joined: 2007/12/11 08:17:33
Location: Finland

Re: Bridge - not working

Post by jlehtone » 2019/11/12 18:15:36

oSAlj wrote:
2019/11/12 17:39:55
I am using NetworkManager
NetworkManager does not add NM_CONTROLLED="no" into config. Did you use anaconda, cockpit, NM gnome applet, nmtui, or nmcli to create the bridge config?

vamfoom
Posts: 39
Joined: 2014/05/24 01:28:37

Re: Bridge - not working

Post by vamfoom » 2019/11/12 23:15:28

I got it to work eventually. See this post: viewtopic.php?f=56&t=72441&p=305008#p305008

oSAlj
Posts: 12
Joined: 2019/10/26 12:32:19

Re: Bridge - not working

Post by oSAlj » 2019/11/13 09:43:26

I reinstalled the system and the bridge works as it should

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 8 - Networking Support”