RTNETLINK answers: File exists

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
bluethundr
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010/08/24 02:39:06
Contact:

RTNETLINK answers: File exists

Post by bluethundr » 2010/08/31 18:50:37

I just noticed that DNS is flakey on this one virtual machine.

[code]
[root@virtCent03:~]#:host bsd2
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
[root@virtCent03:~]#:ping yahoo.com
ping: unknown host yahoo.com
[root@virtCent03:~]#:ping 192.168.1.44
PING 192.168.1.44 (192.168.1.44) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.44: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.227 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.44: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.250 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.44: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.219 ms
[/code]

I looked at the network settings in setup and everything looks as it should.

[code]


┌─────┤ DNS configuration ├─────┐
│ │
│ │
│ Hostname virtCent03_____ │
│ Primary DNS 192.168.1.44___ │
│ Secondary DNS 123.456.0.12____ │
│ Tertiary DNS 4.2.2.2________ │
│ Search example.com_ │
│ │
│ ┌────┐ ┌────────┐ │
│ │ Ok │ │ Cancel │ │
│ └────┘ └────────┘ │
│ │
│ │
└───────────────────────────────┘

[/code]


but when I bounce the networking service this is what I see.



[code]
[root@virtCent03:~]#:service network restart
Shutting down interface eth0: [ OK ]
Shutting down loopback interface: [ OK ]
Bringing up loopback interface: [ OK ]
Bringing up interface eth0: RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Error adding address 192.168.1.45 for eth0.
[ OK ]
[/code]


The interface was configured with the setup utility and seemed to do a good job of writing the config to the correct scripts...


[code]
[root@virtCent03:~]#:less /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
# Xen Virtual Ethernet
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=none
HWADDR=00:16:36:58:cf:3c
ONBOOT=yes
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
IPADDR=192.168.1.45
GATEWAY=192.168.1.1
TYPE=Ethernet
[/code]

[code]
[root@virtCent03:~]#:less /etc/sysconfig/network
NETWORKING=yes
NETWORKING_IPV6=no
HOSTNAME=virtCent03
[/code]

Does anyone have any tips on how to get past this point?

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

RTNETLINK answers: File exists

Post by pschaff » 2010/09/01 18:17:56

A google on the [url=http://www.google.com/search?q=Bringing+up+interface+eth0%3A++RTNETLINK+answers%3A+File+exists+Error+adding+address&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&safe=active]error[/url] seems to indicate that having both the network and NetworkManager services running can cause such an error.[code]chkconfig --list | grep -i network[/code]should tell the story.

nedaves
Posts: 1
Joined: 2013/03/11 18:33:34

Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists

Post by nedaves » 2013/03/11 18:43:25

I recently had this problem while setting up a new CentOS 5.9 server. I never found a good answer that worked in all of my searches.
But what I found to be the answer was I had netplugd running. After turning it off and disabling it, the RTENETLINK error no longer happens.

Post Reply