Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
solidblueliquid
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018/01/11 07:41:06

Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Post by solidblueliquid » 2018/06/11 12:41:51

Hi everyone,

I've been trying to configure a IPv6 setup on one of my VPS, its new build since i've decided to rule everything else out than my mistakes! So I'm using IPv4 and IPv6 but would really like to drop 4 and just use 6 if i can.

The plan is to offer dedicated IPv6 on this server to clients via cPanel. So here's my current setup, any ideas what's wrong;

Code: Select all

[root@voyager network-scripts]# cat ifcfg-eth0
TYPE="Ethernet"
PROXY_METHOD="none"
BROWSER_ONLY="no"
BOOTPROTO="none"
DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6INIT="yes"
IPV6_AUTOCONF="yes"
IPV6_DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE="stable-privacy"
NAME="eth0"
UUID="6fbce7a4-5559-4283-a738-44e36f071d37"
DEVICE="eth0"
ONBOOT="yes"
IPADDR="xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx"
PREFIX="26"
GATEWAY="xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx"
DNS1="8.8.8.8"
DNS2="8.8.4.4"
IPV6_PRIVACY="no"
IPV6ADDR="2a02:5300:1:6::2/64"
DNS3="2001:4860:4860::8888"
DNS4="2001:4860:4860::8844"
IPV6_PEERDNS="no"
[root@voyager network-scripts]#
I've blanked out the IPv4 as they work

User avatar
avij
Retired Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: 2010/12/01 19:25:52
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Post by avij » 2018/06/11 12:51:26

If you are going to set up a static IPv6 address, you should set IPV6_AUTOCONF to "no". You should also have IPV6_DEFAULTGW somewhere, set to your ISP's IPv6 gateway address.

How does your current config not work? Can you ping6 your default gateway?

solidblueliquid
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018/01/11 07:41:06

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Post by solidblueliquid » 2018/06/12 10:12:17

Code: Select all


TYPE="Ethernet"
PROXY_METHOD="none"
BROWSER_ONLY="no"
BOOTPROTO="none"
DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6INIT="yes"
IPV6_AUTOCONF="no"
IPV6_DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE="stable-privacy"
NAME="eth0"
UUID="6fbce7a4-5559-4283-a738-44e36f071d37"
DEVICE="eth0"
ONBOOT="yes"
IPADDR="xxxxxxxx"
PREFIX="xxxx"
GATEWAY="xxxxxxx"
DNS1="8.8.8.8"
DNS2="8.8.4.4"
IPV6_PRIVACY="no"
IPV6ADDR="2a02:5300:1:6::2"
DNS3="2001:4860:4860::8888"
DNS4="2001:4860:4860::8844"
IPV6_DEFAULTGW="2a02:5300:1:6::1"
IPV6_PEERDNS="yes"
NM_CONTROLLED=no
So i changed it as you said then i tried a ping to google.com and it times out, if i traceroute6 it... i just get


traceroute to ipv6.google.com (2a00:1450:4009:814::200e), 30 hops max, 80 byte packets
1 * * *
2 * * *
3 * * *
4 * * *

Ideas?

User avatar
avij
Retired Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: 2010/12/01 19:25:52
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Post by avij » 2018/06/13 12:19:00

Maybe you need to add /64 to your IPv6 address like you had initially. And can you ping6 your default gateway?

hunter86_bg
Posts: 2019
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Post by hunter86_bg » 2018/06/18 04:18:04

Also, are you sure that DNS3 and DNS4 are valid entries?

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33202
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Struggling to configure IPv6 correctly.

Post by TrevorH » 2018/06/18 10:51:18

They are not. It looks for DNS1 and DNS2, not 3 or 4.
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply