Having issue with catalyst

General support questions
Post Reply
Nik6777
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018/08/27 16:25:16

Having issue with catalyst

Post by Nik6777 » 2018/09/14 16:09:46

I have an issue with Catalyst. I tried to install it using the following

cpan Catalyst::ScriptRunner

but I get the following error. Is there any other way to install Catalyst on a Centos 7 successfully ?

Test Summary Report
-------------------
t/aggregate/unit_core_script_help.t (Wstat: 0 Tests: 0 Failed: 0)
Parse errors: No plan found in TAP output
t/aggregate/unit_core_uri_for.t (Wstat: 0 Tests: 40 Failed: 0)
TODO passed: 22
Files=198, Tests=3783, 663 wallclock secs ( 2.00 usr 0.96 sys + 554.75 cusr 37.95 csys = 595.66 CPU)
Result: FAIL
Failed 1/198 test programs. 0/3783 subtests failed.
make: *** [test_dynamic] Error 255
HAARG/Catalyst-Runtime-5.90118.tar.gz
/usr/bin/make test -- NOT OK
//hint// to see the cpan-testers results for installing this module, try:
reports HAARG/Catalyst-Runtime-5.90118.tar.gz
Running make install
make test had returned bad status, won't install without force
You can find the entire post here https://pastebin.com/3guDqw5n

I tried to find a package for yum which I could not do that . I am really stuck and I cannot find a way to do this

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24064
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Having issue with catalyst

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/14 16:32:18

We don't really recommend using CPAN though it is better now than it once was. In the old days it used to default to installing systemwide and often overwrote files that belonged to installed packages. Then when you yum updated and those packages got updated, the update would replace the already-replaced-by-CPAN files and it would all stop working. Now, it default to installing a private copy for the user that you run it as.

Running as root is not recommended.

You might be better off trying to use cpanspec which takes info from CPAN and makes an SRPM from it. That rpm might need BuildRequires: lines added for any perl pre-reqs that it might require. Which leads me on to the output you posted which shows several places where it's complaining about things that are missing that you probably need to fix.

Trouble loading Catalyst::Action::REST
Term::Size::Any is not installed, can't autodetect terminal column width
Need Catalyst::Plugin::ConfigLoader

etc etc
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Nik6777
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018/08/27 16:25:16

Re: Having issue with catalyst

Post by Nik6777 » 2018/09/14 19:43:20

Hello,

what does it means ?

Do you mean that I must install those packages ?

Trouble loading Catalyst::Action::REST
Term::Size::Any is not installed, can't autodetect terminal column width
Need Catalyst::Plugin::ConfigLoader

or I should do something else ?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24064
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Having issue with catalyst

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/14 20:59:26

Read the errors in the log. It's complaining that pre-reqisite perl modules are not present. Chances are that you need to yum install those or also use CPAN to get them.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Nik6777
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018/08/27 16:25:16

Re: Having issue with catalyst

Post by Nik6777 » 2018/09/14 21:04:57

I have been trying to install all the dependecy which start with catalyst , they all fail.
I cannot find a yum package for them, is there a way or do you know where I can find those dependecy ?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24064
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Having issue with catalyst

Post by TrevorH » 2018/09/14 21:43:17

No. I don't even know what catalyst is. Don't really want to either :-)

But you will need to build whatever this needs and do them in the right order. So build this one, watch it fail, go through the build log and work out what it's complaining about being missing then go off and build that. If that fails then do the same with that, read the build log, find out why it fails. If it's something else missing then build that.

I couldn't see this prebuilt as packages in any of my installed repos. You could check and see if they exist as packages for Fedora. If they do then you cannot (and should not) use those directly on CentOS but you could use the source SRPM files to build packages for CentOS if they are around for Fedora.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply