where has 'setup' gone?

General support questions including new installations
RobK
Posts: 11
Joined: 2010/02/11 16:28:27
Contact:

where has 'setup' gone?

Postby RobK » 2010/02/15 18:34:12

Under Centos 5.2 I used a cmd 'setup' which allowed me to change services and network etc, when I try to run this under 5.4 I get 'not found'
Where has it gone?

gerald_clark
Posts: 10592
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

where has 'setup' gone?

Postby gerald_clark » 2010/02/15 18:36:08

It is still called 'setup'
You probably have not become root properly.
Use:
su -
NOT
su

RobK
Posts: 11
Joined: 2010/02/11 16:28:27
Contact:

Re: where has 'setup' gone?

Postby RobK » 2010/02/15 21:45:44

tried that - still no luck.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: where has 'setup' gone?

Postby pschaff » 2010/02/15 22:54:30

Try this - 1st become root then

Code: Select all

rpm -q setup


If you get

Code: Select all

package setup is not installed
then

Code: Select all

yum install setup
and try again.

If it is found and you still can't run it, then show the results of

Code: Select all

rpm -V setup
uname -rmi
rpm -q centos-release

chuina
Posts: 355
Joined: 2009/12/11 10:25:56

Re: where has 'setup' gone?

Postby chuina » 2010/02/15 22:57:14

My rpm -q setup gives

Code: Select all

setup-2.5.58-7.el5

Try with above first.
If the package is not installed.Then

Code: Select all

yum install setup


Edit: Phill already answered everything

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: where has 'setup' gone?

Postby pschaff » 2010/02/15 23:22:20

chuina wrote:
...
Edit: Phill already answered everything

Great minds... Looks like I beat you by <200 seconds. Thanks for all your helpful posts, and better luck next time. ;-)

milosb
Posts: 661
Joined: 2009/01/18 00:39:15
Location: 44 49&#8242;14&#8243;N 20 27&#8242;44&#8243;E
Contact:

Re: where has 'setup' gone?

Postby milosb » 2010/02/15 23:42:43

I'm sorry guys, but it seems to me pretty impossible for one not to have setup package installed on his system, 'cause when I query the package, I get:

Code: Select all

# rpm -ql setup
/etc/aliases
/etc/bashrc
/etc/csh.cshrc
/etc/csh.login
/etc/environment
/etc/exports
/etc/filesystems
/etc/fstab
/etc/group
/etc/gshadow
/etc/host.conf
/etc/hosts.allow
/etc/hosts.deny
/etc/inputrc
/etc/motd
/etc/mtab
/etc/passwd
/etc/printcap
/etc/profile
/etc/profile.d
/etc/protocols
/etc/securetty
/etc/services
/etc/shadow
/etc/shells
/usr/share/doc/setup-2.5.58
/usr/share/doc/setup-2.5.58/uidgid
/var/log/lastlog


RobK, what you're looking for is more likely the package setuptool.

chuina
Posts: 355
Joined: 2009/12/11 10:25:56

Re: where has 'setup' gone?

Postby chuina » 2010/02/16 01:58:23

milosb is correct.
cause

Code: Select all

$ rpm -ql setuptool
-----------------------------
/etc/setuptool.d/99system-config-network-tui
/etc/setuptool.d/99system-config-printer-tui
/etc/setuptool.d/99timeconfig
[b]/usr/bin/setup
/usr/sbin/setup[/b]
/usr/share/doc/setuptool-1.19.2
/usr/share/doc/setuptool-1.19.2/README
-----------------------------

I think setuptool is in the Base group.

ToddAndMargo
Posts: 397
Joined: 2007/02/20 04:27:08
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/USA/Nevada GMT-8

Re: where has 'setup' gone?

Postby ToddAndMargo » 2010/02/16 02:07:47

If all the above stuff does not work and it looks like you really do have setup installed, it could be that you have several programs called setup and you are getting the wrong one. Happens to me sometimes. Both ways too.

In which case try using the exact path "/usr/bin/setup" and see it that works.

HTH,
-T

RobK
Posts: 11
Joined: 2010/02/11 16:28:27
Contact:

Re: where has 'setup' gone?

Postby RobK » 2010/02/16 09:12:33

thanks for all your help.
I ran 'yum install setuptool' and now it works. :-D


Return to “CentOS 5 - General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests