[RESOLVED] Language selection not working

General support questions

[RESOLVED] Language selection not working

Postby danlugli » 2012/02/18 11:26:35

Hi all,
this is my first post here.

I recently installed centos-6.2 64 bit in a vmware virtual machine.
During the graphical installation I asked for italian language, but to no success.
Later I tried several times, during more than one week, to select italian from System/Administration/Language/Italian (Italy) Italiano, but I always got

"The Network or the Repos of Yum has some problems, do you want to continue?
'Yes' will change the language but not install it.
'No' will exit without changing the language."

The meaning of this message is not clear to me -- how can the language be changed without being installed? So I always choose 'No'.

I searched 'language selection' on this forum but found nothing helpful.

What is going on and what can I do to change the language?

Thank you in advance

Daniele Lugli
danlugli
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2012/02/18 11:14:11

[RESOLVED] Language selection not working

Postby pschaff » 2012/02/18 13:08:40

Welcome to the CentOS fora. Please see the recommended reading for new users linked in my signature.

It seems from the error message that there is a problem with your repository configuration. Is networking working for web browsing or other things? Please provide more information about your system by running "./getinfo.sh" and showing us the output file.
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: Language selection not working

Postby danlugli » 2012/02/18 15:53:42

Thank you for your prompt reply.

Networking works fine for browsing; I am now replying to your message from my centos installation. I also have been able to install software both from System/Administration/Add-Remove software and by downloading eg sun java and other stuff.

Being the output of getinfo.sh (run as root) not too long (about 300 lines) I think I can attach it here:

Information for general problems.
Code: Select all
== BEGIN uname -rmi ==
2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.centos.plus.x86_64 x86_64 x86_64
== END   uname -rmi ==

== BEGIN rpm -qa \*-release\* ==
adobe-release-x86_64-1.0-1.noarch
centos-release-6-2.el6.centos.7.x86_64
== END   rpm -qa \*-release\* ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/redhat-release ==
CentOS release 6.2 (Final)
== END   cat /etc/redhat-release ==

== BEGIN getenforce ==
Enforcing
== END   getenforce ==

== BEGIN free -m ==
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          4840       2803       2036          0        268        583
-/+ buffers/cache:       1952       2888
Swap:         1418         10       1408
== END   free -m ==

== BEGIN rpm -qa yum\* rpm-\* python | sort ==
python-2.6.6-29.el6.x86_64
rpm-libs-4.8.0-19.el6.x86_64
rpm-python-4.8.0-19.el6.x86_64
yum-3.2.29-22.el6.centos.noarch
yum-metadata-parser-1.1.2-16.el6.x86_64
yum-plugin-fastestmirror-1.1.30-10.el6.noarch
yum-plugin-security-1.1.30-10.el6.noarch
yum-utils-1.1.30-10.el6.noarch
== END   rpm -qa yum\* rpm-\* python | sort ==

== BEGIN ls /etc/yum.repos.d ==
adobe-linux-x86_64.repo
CentOS-Base.repo
CentOS-Debuginfo.repo
CentOS-Media.repo
== END   ls /etc/yum.repos.d ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/yum.conf ==
[main]
cachedir=/var/cache/yum/$basearch/$releasever
keepcache=0
debuglevel=2
logfile=/var/log/yum.log
exactarch=1
obsoletes=1
gpgcheck=1
plugins=1
installonly_limit=5
bugtracker_url=http://bugs.centos.org/set_project.php?project_id=16&ref=http://bugs.centos.org/bug_report_page.php?category=yum
distroverpkg=centos-release

#  This is the default, if you make this bigger yum won't see if the metadata
# is newer on the remote and so you'll "gain" the bandwidth of not having to
# download the new metadata and "pay" for it by yum not having correct
# information.
#  It is esp. important, to have correct metadata, for distributions like
# Fedora which don't keep old packages around. If you don't like this checking
# interupting your command line usage, it's much better to have something
# manually check the metadata once an hour (yum-updatesd will do this).
# metadata_expire=90m

# PUT YOUR REPOS HERE OR IN separate files named file.repo
# in /etc/yum.repos.d
== END   cat /etc/yum.conf ==

== BEGIN yum repolist all ==
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, refresh-packagekit, security
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * base: centos.intergenia.de
 * c6-media:
 * centosplus: mirror.netcologne.de
 * extras: mirror.netcologne.de
 * updates: mirror.netcologne.de
file:///media/CentOS/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] Could not open/read file:///media/CentOS/repodata/repomd.xml
Trying other mirror.
file:///media/cdrecorder/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] Could not open/read file:///media/cdrecorder/repodata/repomd.xml
Trying other mirror.
file:///media/cdrom/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] Could not open/read file:///media/cdrom/repodata/repomd.xml
Trying other mirror.
repo id                      repo name                            status
adobe-linux-x86_64           Adobe Systems Incorporated           enabled:     2
base                         CentOS-6 - Base                      enabled: 6,294
c6-media                     CentOS-6 - Media                     enabled:     0
centosplus                   CentOS-6 - Plus                      enabled:     0
contrib                      CentOS-6 - Contrib                   enabled:     0
debug                        CentOS-6 - Debuginfo                 disabled
extras                       CentOS-6 - Extras                    enabled:     0
updates                      CentOS-6 - Updates                   enabled:     0
repolist: 6,296
== END   yum repolist all ==

== BEGIN egrep 'include|exclude' /etc/yum.repos.d/*.repo ==
== END   egrep 'include|exclude' /etc/yum.repos.d/*.repo ==

== BEGIN sed -n -e "/^\[/h; /priority *=/{ G; s/\n/ /; s/ity=/ity = /; p }" /etc/yum.repos.d/*.repo | sort -k3n ==
== END   sed -n -e "/^\[/h; /priority *=/{ G; s/\n/ /; s/ity=/ity = /; p }" /etc/yum.repos.d/*.repo | sort -k3n ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/fstab ==

#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Sat Jan 28 22:53:41 2012
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
UUID=5ec7fa77-3817-4c4a-9b5a-b291aaf28099 /                       ext4    defaults        1 1
UUID=ea575059-b887-4a4d-94b0-ddc1f154b08e /boot                   ext2    defaults        1 2
UUID=76edbce9-f565-4b1f-8da8-47624e88145f swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
/dev/sdb1      /data         ext3   defaults   0 0
/data/export      /remote         none   rw,bind      0 0


== END   cat /etc/fstab ==

== BEGIN df -h ==
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3              77G  7.4G   69G  10% /
tmpfs                 2.4G  544K  2.4G   1% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1             485M  108M  352M  24% /boot
/dev/sdb1             119G   71G   42G  63% /data
.host:/               466G  316G  150G  68% /mnt/hgfs
== END   df -h ==

== BEGIN fdisk -l ==

Disk /dev/sdb: 128.8 GB, 128849018880 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 15665 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00034162

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1       15665   125829081   83  Linux

Disk /dev/sda: 85.9 GB, 85899345920 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 10443 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0007833b

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1          64      512000   83  Linux
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2              64         245     1453056   82  Linux swap / Solaris
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda3             245       10444    81920000   83  Linux
== END   fdisk -l ==

== BEGIN blkid ==
/dev/sda1: UUID="ea575059-b887-4a4d-94b0-ddc1f154b08e" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sda2: UUID="76edbce9-f565-4b1f-8da8-47624e88145f" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="_CentOS-6.2-x86_" UUID="5ec7fa77-3817-4c4a-9b5a-b291aaf28099" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb1: UUID="a9a32d6d-89e6-4e8f-ab48-9aed4ac3eac1" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
== END   blkid ==

== BEGIN cat /proc/mdstat ==
Personalities :
unused devices: <none>
== END   cat /proc/mdstat ==

== BEGIN pvs ==
== END   pvs ==

== BEGIN vgs ==
  No volume groups found
== END   vgs ==

== BEGIN lvs ==
  No volume groups found
== END   lvs ==

== BEGIN rpm -qa kernel\* | sort ==
kernel-2.6.32-220.4.1.el6.centos.plus.x86_64
kernel-2.6.32-220.4.1.el6.x86_64
kernel-2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.centos.plus.x86_64
kernel-2.6.32-220.el6.x86_64
kernel-devel-2.6.32-220.4.1.el6.centos.plus.x86_64
kernel-devel-2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.centos.plus.x86_64
kernel-doc-2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.centos.plus.noarch
kernel-firmware-2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.centos.plus.noarch
kernel-headers-2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.centos.plus.x86_64
== END   rpm -qa kernel\* | sort ==

== BEGIN lspci -nn ==
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge [8086:7190] (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge [8086:7191] (rev 01)
00:07.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA [8086:7110] (rev 08)
00:07.1 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE [8086:7111] (rev 01)
00:07.3 Bridge [0680]: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI [8086:7113] (rev 08)
00:07.7 System peripheral [0880]: VMware Virtual Machine Communication Interface [15ad:0740] (rev 10)
00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: VMware SVGA II Adapter [15ad:0405]
00:10.0 SCSI storage controller [0100]: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual Ultra320 SCSI [1000:0030] (rev 01)
00:11.0 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI bridge [15ad:0790] (rev 02)
00:15.0 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:15.1 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:15.2 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:15.3 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:15.4 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:15.5 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:15.6 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:15.7 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:16.0 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:16.1 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:16.2 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:16.3 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:16.4 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:16.5 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:16.6 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:16.7 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:17.0 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:17.1 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:17.2 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:17.3 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:17.4 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:17.5 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:17.6 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:17.7 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:18.0 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:18.1 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:18.2 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:18.3 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:18.4 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:18.5 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:18.6 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
00:18.7 PCI bridge [0604]: VMware PCI Express Root Port [15ad:07a0] (rev 01)
02:00.0 USB controller [0c03]: VMware USB1.1 UHCI Controller [15ad:0774]
02:01.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82545EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) [8086:100f] (rev 01)
02:02.0 Multimedia audio controller [0401]: Ensoniq ES1371 [AudioPCI-97] [1274:1371] (rev 02)
02:03.0 USB controller [0c03]: VMware USB2 EHCI Controller [15ad:0770]
== END   lspci -nn ==

== BEGIN lsusb ==
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0e0f:0003 VMware, Inc. Virtual Mouse
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 0e0f:0002 VMware, Inc. Virtual USB Hub
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 0e0f:0008 VMware, Inc.
== END   lsusb ==

== BEGIN rpm -qa kmod\* kmdl\* ==
== END   rpm -qa kmod\* kmdl\* ==

== BEGIN ifconfig -a ==
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0C:29:EF:CF:71 
          inet addr:172.16.56.173  Bcast:172.16.56.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:feef:cf71/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:203232 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:138110 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:216845506 (206.7 MiB)  TX bytes:19531042 (18.6 MiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:748 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:748 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:75680 (73.9 KiB)  TX bytes:75680 (73.9 KiB)

pan0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr DE:72:D5:40:61:12 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

== END   ifconfig -a ==

== BEGIN brctl show ==
bridge name   bridge id      STP enabled   interfaces
pan0      8000.000000000000   no      
== END   brctl show ==

== BEGIN route -n ==
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
172.16.56.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     1      0        0 eth0
0.0.0.0         172.16.56.2     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
== END   route -n ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/resolv.conf ==
# Generated by NetworkManager
domain localdomain
search localdomain
nameserver 172.16.56.2
== END   cat /etc/resolv.conf ==

== BEGIN grep net /etc/nsswitch.conf ==
#networks:   nisplus [NOTFOUND=return] files
#netmasks:   nisplus [NOTFOUND=return] files     
netmasks:   files
networks:   files
netgroup:   nisplus
== END   grep net /etc/nsswitch.conf ==

== BEGIN chkconfig --list | grep -Ei 'network|wpa' ==
NetworkManager    0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
network           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
wpa_supplicant    0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
== END   chkconfig --list | grep -Ei 'network|wpa' ==

[Moderator edit: Fixed code tags to preserve formatting.]
danlugli
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2012/02/18 11:14:11

Re: Language selection not working

Postby pschaff » 2012/02/18 16:23:28

Some things apparently wrong with the repo configs. The c6-media repo is not enabled by default, and centosplus, extras, and updates all show zero available packages.

Please show:

Code: Select all
cat /etc/yum.repos.d/CentOS-Base.repo
cat /etc/yum.repos.d/CentOS-Media.repo
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: Language selection not working

Postby danlugli » 2012/02/18 16:30:21

Here they are:

Code: Select all
# CentOS-Base.repo
#
# The mirror system uses the connecting IP address of the client and the
# update status of each mirror to pick mirrors that are updated to and
# geographically close to the client.  You should use this for CentOS updates
# unless you are manually picking other mirrors.
#
# If the mirrorlist= does not work for you, as a fall back you can try the
# remarked out baseurl= line instead.
#
#

[base]
name=CentOS-$releasever - Base
mirrorlist=http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=$releasever&arch=$basearch&repo=os
#baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/os/$basearch/
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-6

#released updates
[updates]
name=CentOS-$releasever - Updates
mirrorlist=http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=$releasever&arch=$basearch&repo=updates
#baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/updates/$basearch/
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-6

#additional packages that may be useful
[extras]
name=CentOS-$releasever - Extras
mirrorlist=http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=$releasever&arch=$basearch&repo=extras
#baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/extras/$basearch/
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-6

#additional packages that extend functionality of existing packages
[centosplus]
name=CentOS-$releasever - Plus
mirrorlist=http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=$releasever&arch=$basearch&repo=centosplus
#baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/centosplus/$basearch/
gpgcheck=1
enabled=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-6

#contrib - packages by Centos Users
[contrib]
name=CentOS-$releasever - Contrib
mirrorlist=http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=$releasever&arch=$basearch&repo=contrib
#baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/contrib/$basearch/
gpgcheck=1
enabled=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-6


and

Code: Select all
# CentOS-Media.repo
#
# This repo is used to mount the default locations for a CDROM / DVD on
#  CentOS-6.  You can use this repo and yum to install items directly off the
#  DVD ISO that we release.
#
# To use this repo, put in your DVD and use it with the other repos too:
#  yum --enablerepo=c6-media [command]

# or for ONLY the media repo, do this:
#
#  yum --disablerepo=\* --enablerepo=c6-media [command]
 
[c6-media]
name=CentOS-$releasever - Media
baseurl=file:///media/CentOS/
        file:///media/cdrom/
        file:///media/cdrecorder/
gpgcheck=1
enabled=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-6
danlugli
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2012/02/18 11:14:11

Re: Language selection not working

Postby pschaff » 2012/02/18 17:25:32

I'm at a loss to explain the missing contents of the CentOS repos other than base. I would recommend changing "enabled=1" to "enabled=0" for the c6-media repo. It is normally used as:
Code: Select all
yum --disablerepo \* --enablerepo c6-media ...

I also can't explain the language issues, but please try again after the above change and a "yum clean all". If it still fails, perhaps someone else can comment.
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: Language selection not working

Postby danlugli » 2012/02/18 17:46:46

Issuing the command

Code: Select all
yum --disablerepo \* --enablerepo c6-media ...


precisely as written results in an error. I can imagine that the ellipsis ... stands for something else but sorry, being a complete newbie to centos (I am a ubuntu user), I have no idea what to put there.

Code: Select all
yum clean all


doesn't complain but doesn't solve the problem.

Anyway thank you very much for your time and your attention.
danlugli
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2012/02/18 11:14:11

Re: Language selection not working

Postby pschaff » 2012/02/19 18:53:53

... stands for any yum command and argument, such as update or install package_name or list available, etc.

Have you done the recommended reading including Installing Software and the yum links that provides?
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: Language selection not working

Postby danlugli » 2012/02/20 00:15:43

pschaff wrote:
... stands for any yum command and argument, such as update or install package_name or list available, etc.

Have you done the recommended reading including Installing Software and the yum links that provides?


Yes, and I did find a similar command, with 'list available' instead of ... So I did understand that this syntax is to apply the command to one single repo (disable all and enable just one, then apply the command, isn't it?)

So I first tried to replace ... with enabled=0, "enabled=0" or 'enabled=0', always getting "no such command" (and in fact I don't see any similar command with yum --help).

So at last, as said, I tried the literal ellipsis too, and of course it did not work.

Sorry but I still don't understand what I should put there.
danlugli
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2012/02/18 11:14:11

Re: Language selection not working

Postby pschaff » 2012/02/20 13:59:02

Look back at post #5 where you listed the contents of /etc/yum.repos.d/CentOS-Media.repo and note the line enabled=1. Open the file with your favorite editor and change 1 to 0. Beyond that I don't know what to suggest, except to read Installing Software and the links it provides, and to learn more about yum and rpm package management tools.
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Next

Return to CentOS 6 - General Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests