[SOLVED] Error on Start-up

General support questions
Post Reply
Apoth30sis
Posts: 11
Joined: 2012/03/07 23:28:15

[SOLVED] Error on Start-up

Post by Apoth30sis » 2012/03/19 05:45:25

Hello all, I had a power outage and my CentOS box crashed.

This is as far as it gets on boot:

Checking filesystems
_CentOS-.6.2-x86_:clean 227387/3238400files, 1841522/13107200 blocks
/dev/sda1: Superblock last write time is in the future.
(by less than a day, probably due to the hardware clock being incorrectly set). FIXED.
/dev/sda1: clean, 55/128016 files, 109513/512000 blocks
/dev/mapper/vg_mediabox-lv_home: clean, 12484/26836992 files, 1955866/107336704 blocks
fsck.ext4: No such or directory while trying to open /dev/sbg
/dev/sbg:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2 filesystem(and not a swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
e2fsk -b 8194

*** An error occurred during the file system check.
*** Dropping you into shell; the system will reboot
*** when you leave the shell.
*** Warning -- SELinux is active
*** Disabling security enforcement for system recovery
Give root password for maintenance (or type Control D to continue)

If I put the root password in for maintenance, the system just hangs. I am completely at a loss here. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Apoth30sis
Posts: 11
Joined: 2012/03/07 23:28:15

Re: Error on Start-up

Post by Apoth30sis » 2012/03/19 05:58:55

Correction, the system doesn't hang, it puts me into the shell, which makes more sense. Also important, /dev/sdg is a USB hard drive (ext4 formatted) which is not plugged into the system. It was plugged in when the system crashed. /dev/sda1 is the boot drive.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24618
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Error on Start-up

Post by TrevorH » 2012/03/19 09:52:10

Did you add it to /etc/fstab? If you did then it'll be trying to mount it even if it's not present (or if you have a typo in the device name like /dev/sbg instead of sdg - you misspelled it in your first post). In single user mode, you can

[code]
mount -n -o remount,rw /
[/code]

then edit /etc/fstab and correct the problem and reboot.

Apoth30sis
Posts: 11
Joined: 2012/03/07 23:28:15

Re: Error on Start-up

Post by Apoth30sis » 2012/03/19 15:57:24

Well, I think you correctly identified the problem, that was not a typo in my post, I think there is a typo in my fstab file, as I attempted to manually add the drive. :/ However, I get the same error when I attempt to boot into single user mode. I can boot into emergency mode, but I am not sure how to edit fstab from the command prompt in emergency mode.

Apoth30sis
Posts: 11
Joined: 2012/03/07 23:28:15

Re: Error on Start-up

Post by Apoth30sis » 2012/03/19 16:06:53

OK, I managed to run the command you suggested from emergency mode, which booted me into the GUI with a ton of errors. I then used gedit to remove the bad line from /etc/fstab and now everything is working.

Thank you so much, Trevor, your help is much appreciated.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

[SOLVED] Error on Start-up

Post by pschaff » 2012/03/19 20:07:12

Thanks for reporting back. Marking this thread [SOLVED] for posterity.

bubber14
Posts: 1
Joined: 2013/11/17 00:53:52

Re: Error on Start-up

Post by bubber14 » 2013/11/17 00:56:56

TrevorH wrote:Did you add it to /etc/fstab? If you did then it'll be trying to mount it even if it's not present (or if you have a typo in the device name like /dev/sbg instead of sdg - you misspelled it in your first post). In single user mode, you can

Code: Select all

mount -n -o remount,rw /
then edit /etc/fstab and correct the problem and reboot.
Thank you sir, you are a genius. Saved me days of trouble.

Michael.Fattahi
Posts: 1
Joined: 2013/12/03 21:37:19

Re: [SOLVED] Error on Start-up

Post by Michael.Fattahi » 2013/12/03 21:40:20

Hi ,

I have the same problem , please let me know your detail fix instruction with command.

Thank you,

Bunionhead
Posts: 7
Joined: 2014/03/09 19:02:58

Re: [SOLVED] Error on Start-up

Post by Bunionhead » 2016/04/27 19:21:05

I just wanted to say thank you to Trevor! This saved my bacon.

Post Reply