Missing mod_php5.so

General support questions

Missing mod_php5.so

Postby gw1500se » 2012/05/07 14:33:55

I am in the process of migrating from Mandriva to Centos and have run into a couple of problems. Some of which may be because I am Mandriva oriented not yet Centos.

1) I cannot start Apache because I am missing mod_php5. I cannot find that in yum anywhere.

2) I cannot configure my display for X because all the tools I've read about are missing (Xconfigurator, system-configure-display, xrandr).

I obviously need someone to do a little hand holding to get me through this migration as I'm sure other issues will come up.

Thanks.
gw1500se
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2012/05/07 13:53:35

Missing mod_php5.so

Postby pschaff » 2012/05/07 20:15:32

Welcome to the CentOS fora. Please see the recommended reading for new users linked in my signature.

No CentOS-6 or 3rd party package provides mod_php5.so so it should not be required for Apache. Are you using the distro httpd or something else? What does "rpm -q httpd" show?

The xorg-x11-server-utils package provides xrandr. For more help on the graphics we may need more information about your hardware. Please provide more information about your system by running "./getinfo.sh" and showing us the output file.
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: Missing mod_php5.so

Postby markkuk » 2012/05/08 09:52:57

gw1500se wrote:
1) I cannot start Apache because I am missing mod_php5. I cannot find that in yum anywhere.

CentOS PHP module for Apache httpd is called "libphp5" and it's provided by the "php" package. Did you copy your httpd configuration directly from Mandriva?
gw1500se wrote:
2) I cannot configure my display for X because all the tools I've read about are missing (Xconfigurator, system-configure-display, xrandr).

Are you sure that the documentation you have been reading is for CentOS/RHEL/SL 6 and not for some other version or distribution? Both Xconfigurator and system-config-display are obsolete and don't exist in CentOS 6. X should be able to autoconfigure most display setups. What's the actual problem that you have when you try to start X?
markkuk
 
Posts: 682
Joined: 2007/09/07 10:56:28
Location: Finland

Re: Missing mod_php5.so

Postby gw1500se » 2012/05/09 10:04:55

Thanks for the reply.
markkuk wrote:
CentOS PHP module for Apache httpd is called "libphp5" and it's provided by the "php" package. Did you copy your httpd configuration directly from Mandriva?

I did. It is now obvious that this migration will not be as simple as I hoped. I therefore restored the install config but that did not help much. While Apache now seems to start (multiple httpd's running, seems to me there should only be 1) it apparently is not listening on port 80, or at least the browser times out. In checking the logs, there is nothing in access_log and just normal startup messages in error_log.
Are you sure that the documentation you have been reading is for CentOS/RHEL/SL 6 and not for some other version or distribution? Both Xconfigurator and system-config-display are obsolete and don't exist in CentOS 6. X should be able to autoconfigure most display setups. What's the actual problem that you have when you try to start X?

Yes but since the autoconfigure did not come up with the correct settings for some reason, I looked to do it manually. The main problem is that it is choosing the wrong width for my monitor so the right and left sides are off the screen by a considerable amount. Since this monitor is connected via a KVM switch, I cannot keep readjusting the monitor settings each time I switch between systems.
gw1500se
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2012/05/07 13:53:35

Re: Missing mod_php5.so

Postby pschaff » 2012/05/09 10:31:31

What happens if you just restart X with the display active? Sometimes X gets confused with some KVM switches and sees the wrong resolution when the display is not active. Did you try xrandr?
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: Missing mod_php5.so

Postby gw1500se » 2012/05/09 12:02:47

pschaff wrote:
What happens if you just restart X with the display active? Sometimes X gets confused with some KVM switches and sees the wrong resolution when the display is not active.

I'm not sure what you mean. Are you suggesting I startx from Konsole within KDE? If you mean when logging in via the ChUI first, that is what I do all the time.
pschaff wrote:
Did you try xrandr?

That is where I started. That command does not exist which is why I went looking for it, Xconfigurator or system-configure-display, hoping I could find some tool do the config manually.
gw1500se
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2012/05/07 13:53:35

Re: Missing mod_php5.so

Postby pschaff » 2012/05/09 13:22:20

gw1500se wrote:
I'm not sure what you mean. Are you suggesting I startx from Konsole within KDE? If you mean when logging in via the ChUI first, that is what I do all the time.

No idea what a ChUI is, but a sufficient condition for restarting X is to log out and enter Ctrl-Alt-Bksp at the GUI login screen, or in a text-mode console as root
Code: Select all
telinit 3 ; telinit 5

That is where I started. That command does not exist which is why I went looking for it, Xconfigurator or system-configure-display, hoping I could find some tool do the config manually.

If you had read post #2 you might have tried
Code: Select all
yum install xorg-x11-server-utils
:-(
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: Missing mod_php5.so

Postby gw1500se » 2012/05/09 13:45:46

pschaff wrote:
No idea what a ChUI is, but a sufficient condition for restarting X is to log out and enter Ctrl-Alt-Bksp, or in a text-mode console as root

Character User Interface or what you called text-mode. Yep, that is what I do.
pschaff wrote:
If you had read post #2 you might have tried
Code: Select all
yum install xorg-x11-server-utils
:-(

I did and I did but it was still missing. Something must have gone wrong during the install. I did an uninstall and reinstall and then it showed up. I haven't tried it yet as I am currently remote.

However, my main concern at this point is to get Apache working.
gw1500se
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2012/05/07 13:53:35

Re: Missing mod_php5.so

Postby pschaff » 2012/05/09 14:06:23

gw1500se wrote:
...
I therefore restored the install config but that did not help much. While Apache now seems to start (multiple httpd's running, seems to me there should only be 1) it apparently is not listening on port 80, or at least the browser times out. In checking the logs, there is nothing in access_log and just normal startup messages in error_log.
...
However, my main concern at this point is to get Apache working.

Multiple threads are normal.

Are you sure port 80 is open in the firewall? Have you tried temporarily putting SELinux in permissive mode with "setenforce 0"? If you copied over the website from another system it is likely that the SELinux security context is incorrect and needs to be fixed. A forum search on apache selinux and/or the Wiki SELinux articles may help if that is the case:

http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/SELinux
http://wiki.centos.org/TipsAndTricks/SelinuxBooleans
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: Missing mod_php5.so

Postby gw1500se » 2012/05/09 14:10:42

OK, I think I am moving forward. Apache works but only from localhost. I obviously need to do some configuring now.
gw1500se
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2012/05/07 13:53:35

Next

Return to CentOS 6 - General Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests