How to run rdesktop gui?

General support questions

How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby NickC » 2012/05/13 16:11:33

I have installed 'X client for remote desktop' (rdesktop) but how do I actually run this, I can't see this in the menu anywhere.

Thanks,
Nick
NickC
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2012/01/20 16:13:41

Re: How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby pschaff » 2012/05/13 17:26:31

Have you looked at "man rdesktop" and tried running it from the command line?
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby WhatsHisName » 2012/05/13 18:56:28

Did you install tsclient?

If not, then do so. You should then see "Teminal Server Client" in the Internet tab.
User avatar
WhatsHisName
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby NickC » 2012/05/13 19:18:10

WhatsHisName wrote:
Did you install tsclient?

If not, then do so. You should then see "Teminal Server Client" in the Internet tab.


No I had just installed rdesktop only, tsclient now installed.

This sort of works but does not save any connections which are created. When tsclient is closed all the connections which have been added are lost.

Thanks,
Nick
NickC
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2012/01/20 16:13:41

Re: How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby WhatsHisName » 2012/05/13 19:35:12

That is odd.

When I open the Terminal Server Client dialogue box, select "Add Connection" and then supply a host and user name, a percistent entry is made in the dialogue box. I can then Start the new entry.

The implementation of tsclient under EL5 was very clumsy, but under EL6, it should "Just Work".
User avatar
WhatsHisName
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby scottro » 2012/05/13 22:44:59

Fedora seems to have dropped tsclient entirely. One installs rdesktop and calls it with rdesktop
scottro
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1715
Joined: 2007/09/03 21:18:09
Location: NYC

Re: How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby NickC » 2012/05/14 15:30:13

Just uninstalled then reinstalled tsclient but still the same, connections are not persistant across tsclient sessions. Also tried turning SELinux off but that didn't have any effect either.

Package manager for Gnome indicates the version is: tsclient-2.0.2-7.el6 (x96_64).

This seems to be a very cut down version of tsclient compared to what I have seen elsewhere, for example there are no tabs: General/Display/Local resources/Programs/Performance.

Nick
NickC
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2012/01/20 16:13:41

Re: How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby NickC » 2012/05/16 15:17:42

Been searching and don't seem to be able to find a fix for this, can only guess that it just doesn't work properly. Can't explain how WhatsHisName has it working and I don't though. Looks like others elsewhere have had similar problems:
http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get- ... tions.html

Just had a look under openSUSE and that has a perfectly working package called Remmina remote desktop manager. Does that exist in any CentOS repos anywhere or can it be installed from an RPM if there is one somewhere.
NickC
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2012/01/20 16:13:41

Re: How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby pschaff » 2012/05/16 15:29:54

It seems rdesktop really ought to work.

No remmina EL6 packages in the well-known repos. In Fedora 14 I see remmina-0.7.5-2.fc14.src.rpm and gnome-applet-remmina-0.7.3-1.fc14.src.rpm so in your shoes I might try to roll my own following How to Rebuild a Source RPM. Might also look at google results for Remmina el6.
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: How to run rdesktop gui?

Postby WhatsHisName » 2012/05/16 16:48:12

The tsclient/rdesktop pair is installed and works properly on four of my EL6.2 systems.

Whenever something odd like you are descibing happens, I immediately suspect that SELinux is blocking some action, but I see you have already looked into that. If there are no errors in the various logs, then a problem is very hard to track down.

I have seen SELinux block an action even in permissive mode, but not report an audit flag. Those are very hard to track down and usually turn out to be something stupid like the read of a file was allowed, but reading the directory it was in was not allowed.

If you suspect a silent SELinux blockage, then reboot the system, stop at the grub menu, append "selinux=0" to the kernel command line and continue the boot. After the boot is complete, then retest the failing action.
User avatar
WhatsHisName
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Next

Return to CentOS 6 - General Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests