RTNETLINK answers: File exists

Issues related to configuring your network
Posts: 7
Joined: 2010/08/24 02:39:06

RTNETLINK answers: File exists

Postby bluethundr » 2010/08/31 18:50:37

I just noticed that DNS is flakey on this one virtual machine.

Code: Select all

[root@virtCent03:~]#:host bsd2
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
[root@virtCent03:~]#:ping yahoo.com
ping: unknown host yahoo.com
PING ( 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.227 ms
64 bytes from icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.250 ms
64 bytes from icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.219 ms

I looked at the network settings in setup and everything looks as it should.

Code: Select all

                                                   ┌─────┤ DNS configuration ├─────┐                                                   
                                                   │                                                    │                                                   
                                                   │                                                    │                                                   
                                                   │ Hostname      virtCent03_____      │                                                   
                                                   │ Primary DNS    │                                                   
                                                   │ Secondary DNS 123.456.0.12____   │                                                   
                                                   │ Tertiary DNS       │                                                     
                                                   │ Search        example.com_        │                                                   
                                                   │                               │                                                   
                                                   │    ┌────┐      ┌────────┐          │                                                   
                                                   │    │ Ok │      │ Cancel │     │                                                   
                                                   │    └────┘      └────────┘          │                                                   
                                                   │                               │                                                   
                                                   │                               │                                                   

but when I bounce the networking service this is what I see.

Code: Select all

[root@virtCent03:~]#:service network restart
Shutting down interface eth0:  [  OK  ]
Shutting down loopback interface:  [  OK  ]
Bringing up loopback interface:  [  OK  ]
Bringing up interface eth0:  RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Error adding address for eth0.
[  OK  ]

The interface was configured with the setup utility and seemed to do a good job of writing the config to the correct scripts...

Code: Select all

[root@virtCent03:~]#:less /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
# Xen Virtual Ethernet

Code: Select all

[root@virtCent03:~]#:less /etc/sysconfig/network

Does anyone have any tips on how to get past this point?

Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

RTNETLINK answers: File exists

Postby pschaff » 2010/09/01 18:17:56

A google on the error seems to indicate that having both the network and NetworkManager services running can cause such an error.

Code: Select all

chkconfig --list | grep -i network
should tell the story.

Posts: 1
Joined: 2013/03/11 18:33:34

Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists

Postby nedaves » 2013/03/11 18:43:25

I recently had this problem while setting up a new CentOS 5.9 server. I never found a good answer that worked in all of my searches.
But what I found to be the answer was I had netplugd running. After turning it off and disabling it, the RTENETLINK error no longer happens.

Return to “CentOS 5 - Networking Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest