KickStart Unable to retrieve stage2.img

Installing, Configuring, Troubleshooting server daemons such as Web and Mail

KickStart Unable to retrieve stage2.img

Postby allendlung » 2010/09/14 14:32:26

I recently set up a kickstart server using Centos 5. I copied all 7 of the centos 5 install cd's to the tree.
I made the install cd, it boots fine.
I'm using http, when I'm prompted, I put in the web site: 1.1.1.1 and the Centos directory of /network-install/RPM

I get the following error:

Unable to retrieve
http://1.1.1.1//network-install/RPM/images/stag4e2.img.

I've been told the double slashes after the ip address is not a problem, and I've tested that through a browser, by browsing the same location. (not sure if
that's a valid test, but it did find the directory and display the files.)

I've search the internet and found this problem in many places, and have not found anything that works.

I'm kind of at a loss.

Comments?
allendlung
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010/09/14 14:16:56

KickStart Unable to retrieve stage2.img

Postby pschaff » 2010/09/15 20:52:22

Welcome to the CentOS fora. The following reading is recommended for new users:
Readme First
Installing Software
Where to Find Answers
How to provide information about your system

Does the path network-install/RPM/images/ exist under the document root of your Apache server (/var/www/html/ by default), and does it contain stag4e2.img or more likely stage2.img ?

Anything in the Apache access logs or /var/log/messages?
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: KickStart Unable to retrieve stage2.img

Postby zorkleplex » 2010/10/26 14:45:17

This has happened to me as well. Make sure you have an ending slash after the root directory.

So if you CentOS distro lives in :

/var/www/html/CentOS/5.5-i386

and your httpd root is /var/www/html

you would want your install dir to be

CentOS/5.5-i386/

If I don't add the slash at the end then stage2.img is never found.

One more thing that has occured to me as well. If you are recently reusing a static IP address on that server that was
previously bound to it ( AKA a reinstall ) - try binding a different static IP.

- As always recheck your typing ( I'm sure you did as you mentioned to tried to hit your distro with a browser ).

- Hope this helps!

-Z
zorkleplex
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010/10/26 14:37:14


Return to CentOS 5 - Server Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests