Graphical installers are not supported by the VM. The console mode will be used instead...

General support questions
jessa

Graphical installers are not supported by the VM. The console mode will be used instead...

Post by jessa » 2012/10/18 08:17:44

Hi I'm new with linux and I really don't know if im in the right place to post if not please advice me where. Anyway, I am trying to install a .bin file to my CentOS 6.3 and it appears like this, please see below:

Extracting the JRE from the installer archive...
Unpacking the JRE...
Extracting the installation resources from the installer archive...
Configuring the installer for this system's environment...

Launching installer...

===============================================================================

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Preparing CONSOLE Mode Installation...

Copyright
---------

Copyright 1998-2011
Inc. All rights reserved.

PRESS TO CONTINUE:

Invalid platform
----------------

This platform is not supported by this installer.

Continue to Exit.

PRESS TO ACCEPT THE FOLLOWING (OK):

I can install this installer to centOsS 6.3 on my vmware 8.3 but my boss is using OpenVZ where the OS reside so im not sure if that's the problem why im having this issue.
as notice it says
"Graphical installers are not supported by the VM. The console mode will be used instead..." so im assuming its something about
x windows pkg.

I tried to install x windows using yum

[root@jessa opt]# yum groupinstall x windows
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
* base: mirror.nus.edu.sg
* extras: mirror.aarnet.edu.au
* updates: mirror.aarnet.edu.au
Setting up Group Process
Checking for new repos for mirrors
Warning: Group x does not exist.
Warning: Group windows does not exist.
No packages in any requested group available to install or update
[root@jessa opt]#

I don't know really what to do and where to start. please advise.

thanks a lot