Missing libraries ?

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, IA-64, and PowerPC)
ingcartun
Posts: 56
Joined: 2009/09/27 16:16:53
Location: Timisoara

Missing libraries ?

Postby ingcartun » 2010/04/17 19:18:58

Hi all,

When I want to launch Ansys Workbench appear the next error. In condition in made to work on Red Hat platform, I think must work on CentOS too. So, I ask to other forums which must be the cause because don´t can be launch, and the answer it was because of missing of some libraries. This is the error:

>su
>password
>./runwb
>./runwb: line 24: 5827 Segmentation fault $DS_INSTALL_DIR/workbench -StartPage $*

Can tell me somebody which library missing, or what is the reason because appear this error?

Thank you in advance for support and understanding, and I waiting your opinion idea or suggestion, referring to my situation.

Best regards

P.S. Ansys 11_64biti, CentOS5.4_64biti

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Missing libraries ?

Postby pschaff » 2010/04/20 12:11:17

That is not enough information to guess what library or libraries may be missing. Have you tried strace? Have you tried Ansys Support as previously recommended? If Ansys really supports Red Hat based distros one would expect them to use RPM packages, or at least to state dependencies.

Please stop using biti when you mean bit. It is confusing, getting annoying, and will turn people away from your questions.

ingcartun
Posts: 56
Joined: 2009/09/27 16:16:53
Location: Timisoara

Re: Missing libraries ?

Postby ingcartun » 2010/04/21 05:59:54

Hi pschaff ,

In this moment I don't receive any information, but you say about not enough information what I posted here. What I must tape on terminal to obtain suplementary infirmation which reffers to my trouble ? What is strace ?

Thank you in advance for any sugestion, ideea or opinion which can help me.

Best regards.


P.S. Thank you for your suggestion which reffer to bit and biti.

User avatar
jlehtone
Posts: 1589
Joined: 2007/12/11 08:17:33
Location: Finland

Re: Missing libraries ?

Postby jlehtone » 2010/04/21 10:15:43

Code: Select all

man strace


1. It seems odd that you have to execute the application as root.
2. We can guess that 'runwb' is a script, which calls 'workbench' on its line 24.
3. IME segmentation fault is not typical for "missing library".

You could, for example:

Code: Select all

file $DS_INSTALL_DIR/workbench
ldd $DS_INSTALL_DIR/workbench
strace $DS_INSTALL_DIR/workbench

ingcartun
Posts: 56
Joined: 2009/09/27 16:16:53
Location: Timisoara

Re: Missing libraries ?

Postby ingcartun » 2010/04/22 11:01:34

Hi jlehtone,

You have probably write. I dont know exactly if miss some libraries like you say. I obtained this information from other side (there say about ia32 - which I dont know what it is and how I can installed on my computer). From the same source I here about strace.

You can explain me in few words what comand is, where is useful to applied, etc.

I'm curious about ia32 libraries,what is her rolle in my case, how can be installed.

Thank you very much for you support and advice.

I waiting your opnion and sugestion which reffers to my problem.

Best regards.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: Missing libraries ?

Postby pschaff » 2010/04/22 12:01:27

If you have found another site that discusses your issues, please provide a link, and please try strace.


Return to “CentOS 5 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests