YUM-cannot rsync

General support questions including new installations
davesabath

YUM-cannot rsync

Post by davesabath » 2006/03/08 18:58:26

Hi,

I'm having trouble getting rsync to work for centos 4.2. I created the directories /var/www/html/yum/{updates,base} . I copied the rpms from the 3 installation cd's to the base directory. I'm trying to use the stanford university rsync mirror. i imported the gpg key then i ran the following command in terminal:

rsync -avrt rsync://mirror.stanford.edu/yum/pub/centos/4.2/updates/i386/RPMS/ --exclude=debug/ /var/www/html/yum/updates

when i do that, i get the following error:

rsync: failed to connect to mirror.stanford.edu: Connection refused (111)
rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(94)

What am I doing wrong?? Im new at Linux and I am following documentation that I found, but I keep running into this problem. Can someone help?

Dave

K_Frye

YUM-cannot rsync

Post by K_Frye » 2006/03/09 05:39:25

[quote]
davesabath wrote:
Hi,

I'm having trouble getting rsync to work for centos 4.2. I created the directories /var/www/html/yum/{updates,base} . I copied the rpms from the 3 installation cd's to the base directory. I'm trying to use the stanford university rsync mirror. i imported the gpg key then i ran the following command in terminal:

rsync -avrt rsync://mirror.stanford.edu/yum/pub/centos/4.2/updates/i386/RPMS/ --exclude=debug/ /var/www/html/yum/updates

when i do that, i get the following error:

rsync: failed to connect to mirror.stanford.edu: Connection refused (111)
rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(94)

What am I doing wrong?? Im new at Linux and I am following documentation that I found, but I keep running into this problem. Can someone help?

Dave[/quote]

Use a different rsync mirror:

http://www.centos.org/modules/tinycontent/index.php?id=13

I wouldn't mirror the 4.2 subdirectory if I were you. Use the ../4/ directory structure instead.

eg: