CentOS 4.2 on sun4u sparc Sun-Blade-150

General support questions including new installations

CentOS 4.2 on sun4u sparc Sun-Blade-150

Postby pcnetworks » 2009/11/27 13:38:24

I'm a big CentOS fan. Have been since I installed it on an old laptop about 3 years ago and it found absolutely every piece of hardware (including the PCMCIA Linksys Wireless adapter that no other distro I tried could find).

Currently I've got CentOS 5 running on 3 of the 4 "PCs" in my house; the boys "media center", the old laptop (still chuggin) and a VM I use for testing

My network sits behind my Sunblade-150 running Solaris 10.

Now, don't get me wrong. I love Solaris 10. I'm a Distributed Systems Admin for a large local University, and we've got like 400+ servers running Solaris. My Solaris box is tight, secure, and gets the job done acting as my home-network's firewall/internet-gateway/file-server.

But anyone who runs Solaris knows that sometimes it just takes a little work to get things done, related to third-party software, open source stuff, or even just grabbing a tar-ball and compiling from stratch. Solaris is an excellent OS for the industry and work-place, but for a "home server" sometimes it just doesn't roll with the punches as well as my three CentOS PCs. There's almost never packages available for it, in-relation to what I run on the other machines, and I almost always have to work too hard getting source-balls to compile (assuming they'll even compile at all, in some cases).

So I thought, wouldn't it be great if there was a copy of CentOS 5 for my Sunblade 150.

Alas, there does not appear to be a build of CentOS 5 for Sparc, but I discovered you all had a build of 4.2 for Sparc, and I've come across the seeded BitTorrent for the Sparc 4.2Beta (http://beta.centos.org/centos/4.2beta/isos/sparc/) and am currently downloading things (moving along at a whole 21.5kB/s right now, as there's only like 1 Peer and no Seeds, but whatever... It's moving).