grub with clonezilla error 2

Issues related to software problems
wezzo
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010/05/11 08:16:39
Location: Australia

grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by wezzo » 2010/07/27 10:25:40

Hi Guys,

i seem to be having a problem with grub, have just partitioned hdd with gparted to a ext2 partition, mounted drive as mnt and downloaded clonzilla, unzipped to mnt and set up menu.lst as per clonezilla website, when i reboot server and try to boot into clonezilla i get error 2: bad file or directory type??
not sure what this means or how to fix it, but have spent 5 days trying, without success.

in advance, your help would be muchly appreciated :)

here are my menu.lst details:
[code]
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You do not have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda1
# initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
password --md5 $1$tcuFYOFC$DtSzXEbRWPrAywPHfrdI50
title CentOS (2.6.9-89.0.25.EL)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.9-89.0.25.EL ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet psmouse.proto=bare
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.9-89.0.25.EL.img
title CentOS (2.6.9-89.EL)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.9-89.EL ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet psmouse.proto=bare
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.9-89.EL.img
title CentOS (2.6.9-89.0.23.EL)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.9-89.0.23.EL ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
title Clonezilla live on harddrive
root (hd0,2)
kernel /live-hd/vmlinuz boot=live union=aufs vga=788 ip=frommedia live-media-path=/live-hd bootfrom=/dev/hda3 toram=filesystem.squashfs
initrd /live-hd/initrd.img
boot
psmouse.proto=bare
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.9-89.0.23.EL.img[/code][Moderator edit: Added [i]code[/i] tags to preserve formatting.]

User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9320
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk
Contact:

Re: grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by AlanBartlett » 2010/07/27 11:43:46

Looking at the kernel version and your previous posting history, I can see that your current issue is with a [i]CentOS 4[/i] system.

Hence this thread is moved to the appropriate forum.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by pschaff » 2010/08/01 03:04:36

The end of the /boot/grub/grub.conf file (menu.lst is a symbolic link on CentOS - looks like you may be coming from Ubuntu) seems a bit strange. Not enough info has been provided for a definitive answer, but I would guess that if you installed to the top level of the partition without a separate /boot you want something like[code]
title Clonezilla live on harddrive
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz boot=live union=aufs vga=788 ip=frommedia live-media-path=/ bootfrom=/dev/hda3 toram=filesystem.squashfs
initrd /boot/initrd.img
[/code]
If everything really is under a "live-hd" directory then prepend that to the paths.

wezzo
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010/05/11 08:16:39
Location: Australia

Re: grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by wezzo » 2010/08/01 04:41:45

thanks for the reply
the directory structure on mnt is home isolinux live-hd syslinux utils
and there are 2 files Clonezilla-Live-Version COPYING

the files that are in live-hd are the ones that are being referred to in menu.lst
there is no boot directory

not quite sure were to go from here

:-?

wezzo
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010/05/11 08:16:39
Location: Australia

Re: grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by wezzo » 2010/08/01 11:21:32

here are the partition details and grub version if anyone can help

[code]
GNU GRUB version 0.95 (640K lower / 3072K upper memory)

[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB
lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
completions of a device/filename.]


Disk /dev/hda: 20.0 GB, 20020396032 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2434 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 2033 16330041 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 2168 2434 2144677+ 82 Linux swap
/dev/hda3 2034 2167 1076355 83 Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/hdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 19457 156288321 42 SFS

Disk /dev/sda: 16.0 GB, 16026435072 bytes
64 heads, 32 sectors/track, 15283 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 2048 * 512 = 1048576 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 ? 945445 1841937 918008208 4f QNX4.x 3rd part
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 ? 936450 1202288 272218546+ 73 Unknown
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda3 ? 887977 1153688 272087568 2b Unknown
Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda4 ? 1388929 1388955 27487 61 SpeedStor
Partition 4 does not end on cylinder boundary.

Partition table entries are not in disk order


# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
LABEL=SWAP-hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
LABEL=CloneZilla /mnt ext2 defaults 1 2
/dev/hdb1 /mymnt/win/ ntfs-3g rw,umask=0000,defaults 0 0
/dev/sda /media/MAWTECH1 ntfs pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrom auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0[/code][Moderator edit: Yet again added [i]code[/i] tags to preserve formatting.]

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by pschaff » 2010/08/01 14:40:28

Please learn to bracket formatted content with
[code]
...
Formatted text here.
...
[/code]

The only thing I can think of is that there is a device ordering problem and GRUB is confused between /dev/hda3 and /dev/sda3. Might try a "find" command in the grub shell for some files in /live-hd/ - such as

find /live-hd/vmlinuz

See what grub device is returned.

wezzo
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010/05/11 08:16:39
Location: Australia

Re: grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by wezzo » 2010/08/02 06:44:33

thanks for that, i tried the find command and it keeps coming up with error file not found but will find all files in /boot directory
would formatting in ext3 make things better? and then remounting the drive?

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by pschaff » 2010/08/02 09:32:14

The GRUB "find" command can be a bit tricky. You have to get the path right - relative to the top level of the partition, and not the mount point. I doubt that re-formatting as ext3 will make any difference to GRUB. It understands ext2. I still suspect a drive ordering issue. For it to work right the OS, the BIOS, and GRUB have to see the same order, and sometimes that is not the case. I'd try changing playing with the (hdX) specification in GRUB or the BIOS settings.

wezzo
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010/05/11 08:16:39
Location: Australia

Re: grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by wezzo » 2010/08/03 10:02:08

thanks for your help
started from scratch and boots now, don't know what the problem was but now i have this problem when booting Clonezilla :(

[code]

live-initramfs will now start a shell. The error message was:

Unable to find a medium containing a live file system

/bin/sh: cant't access tty; job control turned off

[/code]

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: grub with clonezilla error 2

Post by pschaff » 2010/08/03 10:51:54

I believe that question is appropriate for the [url=http://clonezilla.org/forum/]Clonezilla forum[/url] not for CentOS.

Post Reply