[SOLVED] "cannot activate network device eth0"

Issues related to configuring your network

[SOLVED] "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby captainentropy » 2010/12/28 08:31:23

Hi everyone,

I don't use CentOS regularly (Ubuntu and Mint, yes) so I'm not sure if this is something that is particular to CentOS (release 4) or not. I have this workstation that controls a microscope controller. The drives in this computer are some POS Seagate drives where the data storage drive has already conked out more than once. I think this time there was a problem with the OS drive that caused a lot of filesystem errors. I wasn't able to boot the OS at first. I ran fsck from a liveCD and was able to fix the (hundreds of) errors and the OS can now boot from the drive. The problem I have now is the ethernet does not work. I know there's not a problem with the ethernet controllers because I can access the internet through the liveCD. When I try to activate eth0, or eth1, I get the following error:

Cannot activate network device eth0!
network-functions: line 180: ip: command not found
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 1: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 2: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 3: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 4: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 5: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 6: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 7: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 8: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 9: ignoring bad line starting with 'EXFILTER'
network-functions: line 194: ip: command not found
/sbin/ifup: line 162: ip: command not found
Device eth1 has different MAC address than expected, ignoring.


I'm not sure where to start to resolve this. I have to be very careful not to "break" the OS. I can't risk upgrading it because the software that controls the microscope is not tested to run on anything but CentOS and for now, release 4. And I certainly can't just reinstall the OS. Having the company reinstall the OS and software would take 4 weeks and >$1000.

Any ideas?
captainentropy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby captainentropy » 2010/12/29 02:01:56

oh, and if it's helpful, here's the output of the getinfo script (I deleted some seemingly extraneous info):

Information for general problems.
Code: Select all
== BEGIN uname -rmi ==
2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp x86_64 x86_64
== END   uname -rmi ==

== BEGIN rpm -q centos-release ==
centos-release-4-8
== END   rpm -q centos-release ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/redhat-release ==
CentOS release 4.8 (Final)
== END   cat /etc/redhat-release ==

== BEGIN getenforce ==
Enforcing
== END   getenforce ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/fstab ==
# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
LABEL=/boot1            /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
#LABEL=/data1            /data1                  ext3    defaults        1 2
#/dev/sdb2      /data1         ext3   defaults   1 2
none                    /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
none                    /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
none                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
none                    /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
#LABEL=SWAP-sdb1         swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
LABEL=SWAP-sda2         swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
/dev/sdd1               /media/New_Volume       ntfs-3g rw,umask=0000,defaults 0 0
/dev/hda                /media/cdrecorder       auto    pamconsole,fscontext=system_u:object_r:removable_t,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
/dev/fd0                /media/floppy           auto    pamconsole,fscontext=system_u:object_r:removable_t,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
== END   cat /etc/fstab ==

== BEGIN df -h ==
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3              72G   13G   55G  19% /
/dev/sda1              99M   21M   74M  22% /boot
none                 1004M     0 1004M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sdc1             2.0G  314M  1.7G  16% /mnt/usbflash
== END   df -h ==

== BEGIN fdisk -l ==

Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1          13      104391   83  Linux
/dev/sda2              14         274     2096482+  82  Linux swap
/dev/sda3             275        9729    75947287+  83  Linux

Disk /dev/sdc: 2138 MB, 2138046464 bytes
64 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1035 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 4032 * 512 = 2064384 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdc1   *           1        1036     2087536+   b  W95 FAT32
== END   fdisk -l ==

== BEGIN blkid ==
/dev/sda1: LABEL="/boot1" UUID="336ebd68-4441-4ad3-ba42-aa37e3b7ca8d" SEC_TYPE="ext3" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sda2: TYPE="swap" LABEL="SWAP-sda2" UUID="b7d21875-0b18-4782-b8e1-de63198bbc24"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="/" UUID="64d2ebc6-d138-40da-98e6-ed009253d912" SEC_TYPE="ext3" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sdb1: TYPE="swap" LABEL="SWAP-sdb1" UUID="ce8c8920-ec4d-4dab-9c9e-7ccd53ef9b6e"
/dev/sdb2: LABEL="/data1" UUID="5100dc49-d7dd-4e05-99a8-02f10fa71733" SEC_TYPE="ext3" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sdc1: UUID="8299-5BF6" TYPE="vfat"
== END   blkid ==

== BEGIN rpm -qa kernel\* | sort ==
kernel-2.6.9-55.EL
kernel-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-devel-2.6.9-55.EL
kernel-devel-2.6.9-89.0.11.EL
kernel-devel-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-largesmp-devel-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-module-ntfs-2.6.9-78.0.17.ELsmp-2.1.20-0.rr.10.0
kernel-smp-2.6.9-55.EL
kernel-smp-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-smp-devel-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-utils-2.4-18.el4
== END   rpm -qa kernel\* | sort ==

== BEGIN lspci ==
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a3)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:05.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:05.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:05.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:06.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:08.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306 Fire II IEEE 1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller (rev c0)
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Quadro FX 570 (rev a1)
== END   lspci ==

== BEGIN lspci -n ==
00:00.0 Class 0500: 10de:0369 (rev a2)
00:01.0 Class 0601: 10de:0360 (rev a3)
00:01.1 Class 0c05: 10de:0368 (rev a3)
00:02.0 Class 0c03: 10de:036c (rev a1)
00:02.1 Class 0c03: 10de:036d (rev a2)
00:04.0 Class 0101: 10de:036e (rev a1)
00:05.0 Class 0101: 10de:037f (rev a3)
00:05.1 Class 0101: 10de:037f (rev a3)
00:05.2 Class 0101: 10de:037f (rev a3)
00:06.0 Class 0604: 10de:0370 (rev a2)
00:06.1 Class 0403: 10de:0371 (rev a2)
00:08.0 Class 0200: 10de:0373 (rev a3)
00:0a.0 Class 0604: 10de:0376 (rev a3)
00:0b.0 Class 0604: 10de:0374 (rev a3)
00:0c.0 Class 0604: 10de:0374 (rev a3)
00:0d.0 Class 0604: 10de:0378 (rev a3)
00:0e.0 Class 0604: 10de:0375 (rev a3)
00:0f.0 Class 0604: 10de:0377 (rev a3)
00:18.0 Class 0600: 1022:1100
00:18.1 Class 0600: 1022:1101
00:18.2 Class 0600: 1022:1102
00:18.3 Class 0600: 1022:1103
01:06.0 Class 0c00: 1106:3044 (rev c0)
07:00.0 Class 0300: 10de:040e (rev a1)
== END   lspci -n ==

== BEGIN ifconfig -a ==
ifconfig: /lib64/tls/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.4' not found (required by ifconfig)
== END   ifconfig -a ==

== BEGIN route -n ==
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
== END   route -n ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/resolv.conf ==
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search lbl.gov
nameserver 131.xxx.xx.x
nameserver 128.x.xx.xxx
nameserver 131.xxx.xx.x
== END   cat /etc/resolv.conf ==

== BEGIN grep net /etc/nsswitch.conf ==
#networks:  ldap [NOTFOUND=return] files
netmasks:   files
networks:   files
netgroup:   files
== END   grep net /etc/nsswitch.conf ==

== BEGIN chkconfig --list | grep -Ei 'network|wpa' ==
wpa_supplicant    0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
NetworkManager    0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
network           0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
== END   chkconfig --list | grep -Ei 'network|wpa' ==

captainentropy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby AlanBartlett » 2010/12/29 11:19:23

Welcome to the CentOS fora.

You are one of the few who do the recommended reading before posting a query. Congratulations. :-)

With regard to your problem with the NIC, as I don't have access to a EL4 system, I have a couple of questions to ask:

(1) Has the network access ever worked? Or is this the first time it has been tried?
(2) By looking at the information you have provided, we can see that the NIC is described as "00:08.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)" with a Vendor:Device ID paring of "10de:0373". Please check to see if there is a kernel driver module for that NIC by performing the following "double-grep" --

Code: Select all
[b]grep -i 10de /lib/modules/*/modules.alias | grep 0373[/b]

What is the returned output?

Further, I am concerned to see (in post #1) --

network-functions: line 180: ip: command not found
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 1: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'

WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 9: ignoring bad line starting with 'EXFILTER'
network-functions: line 194: ip: command not found
/sbin/ifup: line 162: ip: command not found

and (in post #2) --

== BEGIN ifconfig -a ==
ifconfig: /lib64/tls/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.4' not found (required by ifconfig)
== END ifconfig -a ==

Both of those are abnormal. What, exactly, is the history of the system?

I can't risk upgrading it because the software that controls the microscope is not tested to run on anything but CentOS and for now, release 4. And I certainly can't just reinstall the OS. Having the company reinstall the OS and software would take 4 weeks and >$1000.

Who are the company? Have they customised / modified the CentOS 4 installation in any way?
User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 8975
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby captainentropy » 2010/12/30 01:58:07

Thanks for the reply Alan,

To answer your questions:

1) yes, the network is accessed frequently from this machine - it's how we transfer the data to our server. Also, I didn't make this clear (though it's not likely to be important) one ethernet port (eth1) connects to the microscope controller, the other (eth0) accesses the network.

2) Here's the output of the grep commands:

Code: Select all
/lib/modules/2.6.9-55.EL/modules.alias:alias pci:v000010DEd00000373sv*sd*bc*sc*i* forcedeth
/lib/modules/2.6.9-55.ELsmp/modules.alias:alias pci:v000010DEd00000373sv*sd*bc*sc*i* forcedeth
/lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.EL/modules.alias:alias pci:v000010DEd00000373sv*sd*bc*sc*i* forcedeth
/lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.alias:alias pci:v000010DEd00000373sv*sd*bc*sc*i* forcedeth


3) As for the history of the machine: it's 2 years old, it's a custom build, and it's only used to acquire images from our microscope. The problem with this machine I believe begins and ends with the hard drives which is best summarized here http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/new ... es-failing
Though, this problem only happened with the data drive, not the OS drive. I couldn't find any reports of the bricking or other problems with the particular drive the OS is on (7200.10 80GB) so I didn't think about cloning it onto another drive. So I fixed the 500GB data drive (which Seagate refused to admit had any problem), and for the last six months or so I've had no problems with that drive or the other. Then one day one user told me she was processing some images on the data drive when it simply disappeared. I restarted the computer to see if it was even detected (it was) so I let it reboot, but it wouldn't. So I restarted with a liveCD to see if I could access them that way. I could access the OS drive but not the data drive. I ran fsck on the OS drive and found tons of errors which were successfully repaired. I can now boot to the desktop and run applications and such but I can't access the internet, which means I can't use the microscope. I have no idea how the filesystem problems occurred so I can only blame the hard drive itself.

4) The company is Applied Precision. As far as I can tell there is no customization of the OS itself (though there could be). It looks like a full install of CentOS 4, except for their software that captures images and accesses the microscope controller (a second, specialized computer running XP that connects directly to the microscope). The company used to use RedHat but now it's only CentOS.

Should I consider running the repair-install feature on the CentOS DVD?

Thanks again for your help :-)
captainentropy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby AlanBartlett » 2010/12/31 00:29:07

Thank you for the information and system history.

I think what has happened is fairly clear. You have experienced a problem with the OS drive, which resulted in a corrupt file system. That was fixed (as best as possible) by the multiple fsck runs but has left certain files in a corrupt state. If your connection to the Internet still was operational, I would have advised parsing the rpm package list (stored with the log files in the /var/log/ directory) and then yum reinstalling the packages. But with no working connection to the Internet . . .

So what I would recommend you do is to try to check the extent of file / package corruption by using the verify option of the rpm command. Firstly, have a refresher read of the rpm manual page --

Code: Select all
[b]man rpm[/b]

and search for the description of the verify option. Now verify each package installed on the system --

Code: Select all
[b]rpm -qa --verify | less[/b]

If every package is perfect and no configuration files have been edited (which will not be the case ;-) ), the above command should return a null output.

Thinking in advance . . . Let's assume you generate a list of corrupt packages, we could replace them with the versions from the installation DVD. However, they may not necessarily be the most recent versions but would be sufficient to get the system back to a state of stability. Then, with a working connection to the Internet, a subsequent yum update will take care of the out of date packages . . . So the situation is recoverable.

Perhaps others would like to comment?

And yes, if that was my system, I would be planning on replacing the disk drives.
User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 8975
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby captainentropy » 2011/01/04 00:45:42

Thanks Alan,

According the output, the ethernet drivers have problems (am I reading this right?)

SM5....TC /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/kernel/drivers/net/forcedeth.ko


I attached the verify command output. Is there anything I should focus on fixing first to get the ethernet in a working state (other than drivers)? Since this is the first time I've had to (partially) rebuild an RPM database I want to be careful not to erase items in the database that are important for the imaging software to work.

Thanks! (It looks like you've been helpful to two people so far - sweet)

**update: there's a problem with me being able to upload the output file (zip). I can email you the file if it's necessary.
captainentropy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

[SOLVED] "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby toracat » 2011/01/06 21:56:47

I apologize for not responding to this thread sooner. Alan is under the weather and has been away from the forums for the last few days.

The output you showed indeed indicates that the driver module forcedeth.ko is altered. That will explain the network problem.

If you can access internet from another computer, try downloading the latest kernel:

http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/updat ... x86_64.rpm
http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/updat ... x86_64.rpm

Copy them to a directory and installed them by:

rpm -ivh kernel*

That should update the kernel and you will get the intact forcedeth.ko file. Then reboot to this kernel.
User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 6688
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby captainentropy » 2011/01/14 01:22:41

thanks toracat. I followed your instructions and the smp-devel kernel seemed to install fine but the other one did this:

Code: Select all
[worx@pd11500 Desktop]$ sudo rpm -ivh kernel-smp-2.6.9-89.33.1.EL.x86_64.rpm
Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
   1:kernel-smp             ########################################### [100%]
cp: cannot stat `/sbin/insmod.static': No such file or directory


It then went back to the shell prompt and I rebooted it and wouldn't boot but instead encountered a kernel panic.

Other kernels still boot though.

Can I rebuild the rpm database from the rescue mode on the CentOS DVD?

Otherwise, I really don't know what to do next.

Thanks for your help so far.
captainentropy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby pschaff » 2011/01/14 01:43:37

kernel-smp-devel is not a kernel, rather it is the kernel development support package. It seems more is corrupted than the kernel module. On CentOS 5
Code: Select all
$ rpm -qf /sbin/insmod.static
module-init-tools-3.3-0.pre3.1.60.el5_5.1

Is module-init-tools installed and does it pass the
Code: Select all
rpm --verify module-init-tools
test?
pschaff
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 18277
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Postby captainentropy » 2011/01/14 01:57:33

Thanks for the reply :) Here's the results of the query

Code: Select all
[worx@pd11500 ~]$ rpm -qf /sbin/insmod.static
module-init-tools-3.1-0.pre5.3.11
[worx@pd11500 ~]$ rpm --verify module-init-tools
missing     /sbin/insmod.static
missing     /sbin/modinfo
captainentropy
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Next

Return to CentOS 4 - Networking Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests