Input/output error when trying to accessing directory

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
s77sh
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014/07/20 07:24:45
Location: Tehran, Iran
Contact:

Input/output error when trying to accessing directory

Post by s77sh » 2014/07/20 07:28:03

Hi.
I have WHM 11.44.0 (build 22) on CENTOS 6.5.
Few days ago I saw that the server was down.
After I Go to the robot.hetzner.de and enabled the Rescue Mod, I was saw in SSH that one of my Hard Disks is turned off.
Then I was send a ticket to the Server Seller (The company that I Bought the server from them).
They said we must talk with Hetzner DC.
After one day the server was turned on but nothing is working true.
I had to restart the server and then The server was not booted.
Again I send a ticket to Server Seller and after 2 days the server is booted again without past problems.
But when I want to transfer my another server backups that located on this server, I came across a big problem.
Server Say this problem on many folders in the server:

Code: Select all

root@dl [/home/****/www]# ls -la
/bin/ls: reading directory .: Input/output error
total 0
When I searching this error, I realized that this is for HARD DISK DAMAGE or CRASH.
Know the only thing that I can do is send again a ticket and ask about the backup server on DC or Recover my files.
Can anyone help me about this problem?
(Sorry for my bad English)

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23034
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Input/output error when trying to accessing directory

Post by TrevorH » 2014/07/20 09:47:36

No-one can do anything with that, it's a hardware error. You need to get them to fix the problem.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

s77sh
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014/07/20 07:24:45
Location: Tehran, Iran
Contact:

Re: Input/output error when trying to accessing directory

Post by s77sh » 2014/07/20 15:12:14

TrevorH wrote:No-one can do anything with that, it's a hardware error. You need to get them to fix the problem.
thanks for reply.
When I asked from Hetzner Data Center about Backup or Recovery they said:
unfortunately we do not offer data-recovery services so we can't help you on this.
Please tell us if and when we are allowed to replace the faulty drive.

Post Reply