VLAN on Bond Interface

Issues related to configuring your network
harris7139
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016/02/04 14:43:30

VLAN on Bond Interface

Postby harris7139 » 2016/02/04 14:49:55

I have 2x NICs bonded together and am looking to put a VLAN subinterface on the bond group (bond0.25). After creating the config files, I restart networking and get the following error message: "Bringing up interface bond0.25: Error: Connection activation failed: No suitable device found for this connection."

I've tried multiple different config variations, but have been unable to correct the issue. Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

Below are configs for each of the interfaces:

ifcfg-enp2s0f0

Code: Select all

BOOTPROTO=none
NM_CONTROLLED=no
USERCTL=no
DEVICE="enp2s0f0"
ONBOOT="yes"
MASTER=bond0
SLAVE=yes
HWADDR=d8:d3:85:e6:95:0c


ifcfg-enp2s0f1

Code: Select all

BOOTPROTO=none
NM_CONTROLLED=no
DEVICE="enp2s0f1"
USERCTL=no
ONBOOT="yes"
MASTER=bond0
SLAVE=yes
HWADDR=d8:d3:85:e6:95:0d


bond0

Code: Select all

DEVICE=bond0
TYPE=Unknown
#NAME=bond0
#BONDING_MASTER=yes
BOOTPROTO=none
ONBOOT=yes
IPADDR=10.50.6.2
NETMASK=255.0.0.0
GATEWAY=10.50.0.1
BONDING_OPTS="mode=4 miimon=100"
IPV6INIT=no
NM_CONTROLLED=no
USERCTL=no


bond0.25

Code: Select all

DEVICE=bond0.25
ONBOOT=yes
BOOTPROTO=none
TYPE=Ethernet
VLAN=yes
USERCTL=no
IPADDR=172.25.4.51
PREFIX=24

aks
Posts: 2151
Joined: 2014/09/20 11:22:14

Re: VLAN on Bond Interface

Postby aks » 2016/02/04 16:22:41

I've never done this, so I don't know.

But this may be of interest:
In the case of VLANs over bonds, it is important that the bond has slaves and that they are “up” before bringing up the VLAN interface. At the time of writing, adding a VLAN interface to a bond without slaves does not work.

Source: https://access.redhat.com/documentation ... gging.html

User avatar
jlehtone
Posts: 1592
Joined: 2007/12/11 08:17:33
Location: Finland

Re: VLAN on Bond Interface

Postby jlehtone » 2016/02/04 23:36:38

I did use nmcli to create (and edit) all connections. I have no service network running. Some of the files:

Code: Select all

# cat ifcfg-bond-bond0
DEVICE=bond0
TYPE=Bond
BONDING_MASTER=yes
DEFROUTE=yes
PEERDNS=yes
PEERROUTES=yes
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=no
IPV6INIT=no
IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes
IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes
IPV6_PEERDNS=yes
IPV6_PEERROUTES=yes
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no
NAME=bond-bond0
UUID=3fe838b0-6d68-4747-8be0-57c89aacab20
ONBOOT=yes
BONDING_OPTS=mode=802.3ad


Code: Select all

# cat ifcfg-bond-slave-enp8s1
TYPE=Ethernet
NAME=bond-slave-enp8s1
UUID=d5dd1420-529a-4d6d-8a3f-c6199cbf02d5
DEVICE=enp8s1
ONBOOT=yes
MASTER=bond0
SLAVE=yes


Code: Select all

# cat ifcfg-vlan-666
VLAN=yes
TYPE=Vlan
DEVICE=666
PHYSDEV=bond0
VLAN_ID=666
REORDER_HDR=0
BOOTPROTO=none
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=no
IPV6INIT=no
IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes
IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes
IPV6_PEERDNS=yes
IPV6_PEERROUTES=yes
IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no
NAME=vlan-666
UUID=016e4f65-85fc-466e-9f7a-5224680ade57
ONBOOT=yes
BRIDGE=22e7c1ed-f24b-4c98-9b9f-2a996b437ce2

(The last line hints that there is more than just VLAN, but that is an another story.)

The most striking difference (in my eyes) is in the TYPE variables. Even the network service's ifup*-scripts do use at that.

harris7139
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016/02/04 14:43:30

Re: VLAN on Bond Interface

Postby harris7139 » 2016/02/08 14:23:36

Thanks for the input and suggestions. It ended up being that Network Manager was trying to bring up the bonded VLAN interface while the physical interfaces and bond itself were being managed outside of Network Manager. Adding NM_CONTROLLED=no to the bonded VLAN ifcfg file fixed the problem and all is well. Much appreciated!

jannoke
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016/09/20 17:12:11

Re: VLAN on Bond Interface

Postby jannoke » 2017/01/10 09:43:56

Same problem here. Thanks for the solution.
Added NM_CONTROLLED="no" and it fixedit.


Return to “CentOS 7 - Networking Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests