[SOLVED] Instaling HandBrake CLI (video transcoder) fails from source...

Issues related to applications and software problems

[SOLVED] Instaling HandBrake CLI (video transcoder) fails from source...

Postby xtian » 2013/09/01 11:16:02

I've been running HandBrake on Fedora (HandBrake-cli-0.9.6-1.fc16.i686.rpm). Now, I need to install it on CentOS and found this guide for CentOS6. Unfortunatly, it would not build. The build log file reports these two failuers:

Code: Select all
find: xcodebuild...(fail) not found
find: lipo...(fail) not found
...
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
time end: Sun Sep  1 07:04:08 2013
duration: 8 seconds (8.49s)
result: FAILURE (code 2)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Build is finished!
You may now cd into ./build and examine the output.


These are not available to "#yum" or "#yum search" as xcodebuild or lipo. Any suggestions?
xtian
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2013/07/23 00:42:02

[SOLVED] Instaling HandBrake CLI (video transcoder) fails fr

Postby scottro » 2013/09/01 17:04:10

You can get both cli and gui versions from LinuxTech. While there is always danger in mixing repos, (see http://wiki.centos.org/AdditionalResources/Repositories and http://wiki.centos.org/PackageManagement/Yum/Priorities
I've used that repo to install handbrake. Note that I use the CLI version which probably has fewer requirements.

The Linuxtech repo is at http://pkgrepo.linuxtech.net/el6/
scottro
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: 2007/09/03 21:18:09
Location: NYC

Re: [SOLVED] Instaling HandBrake CLI (video transcoder) fails from source...

Postby xtian » 2013/09/03 22:25:50

After running that tutorial and installing the dependencies I could find, I enabled the Linuxtech repo and it added for a dependency: libdvdcss-i686-1.2.12-1.el6 some 45k worth of sumfin...
xtian
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2013/07/23 00:42:02

Re: [SOLVED] Instaling HandBrake CLI (video transcoder) fail

Postby masteryo » 2014/01/24 15:00:16

Dear xtian , can you tell me exactly what you did to fix this problem ? what is the linux command your wrote

because i'm not good in linux


Thank you
masteryo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014/01/24 14:57:59

Re: [SOLVED] Instaling HandBrake CLI (video transcoder) fail

Postby scottro » 2014/01/24 17:07:32

See the links in my post. First look at the wiki article on repos.
Then, install the linuxtech repo and give it a priority number like 200 so that that it doesn't interfere with other installed packages. In other words, install the repo, then
in your /etc/yum/repos.d file, where you'll have the repo, called linuxtech.repo, add the line to the linuxtech.repo file
Code: Select all
priority=200


This ensures that it won't override some other packages you have.
Once you've done that, you should be able to run yum install handbrake-cli
New users should check the FAQ and Read Me First pages
scottro
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: 2007/09/03 21:18:09
Location: NYC


Return to CentOS 6 - Software Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests