VMWare Workstation 10 under CentOS 6.4 runs into "start .. Virtual machine monitor [FAILED]" error

Issues related to applications and software problems
Post Reply
catshout
Posts: 5
Joined: 2013/09/23 06:48:57

VMWare Workstation 10 under CentOS 6.4 runs into "start .. Virtual machine monitor [FAILED]" error

Post by catshout » 2013/09/23 07:15:05

It seems that is a really old problem but after an intensive research I didn't find any solution.

Im running CentOS with kernel 2.6.32-358.6.1.el6.x86_64. I've installed VMWare Workstation 10 and got an error

Starting VMware services:
Virtual machine monitor [FAILED]
Virtual machine communication interface [ OK ]
VM communication interface socket family [ OK ]
Blocking file system [ OK ]
Virtual ethernet [ OK ]
VMware Authentication Daemon [ OK ]

The command

vmware-modconfig --console --install-all

didn't help either. It runs without an error but the problem isn't solved. I tried also VMWare Workstation 9, 8, 6. No one runs.

I'd be happy to get any hint that helps me to find a way to get VMWare up and running. Many thanks in advance.

- Gerald

catshout
Posts: 5
Joined: 2013/09/23 06:48:57

Re: VMWare Workstation 10 under CentOS 6.4 runs into "start .. Virtual machine monitor [FAILED]" error

Post by catshout » 2013/09/23 11:18:40

Finally it comes down to the following

[code]
[root@j62837 ~] # modprobe vmmon
FATAL: Error inserting vmmon (/lib/modules/2.6.32-358.6.1.el6.x86_64/misc/vmmon.ko): Invalid module format
[root@j62837 ~] #
[/code]

pjwelsh
Posts: 2589
Joined: 2007/01/07 02:18:02
Location: Central IL USA

VMWare Workstation 10 under CentOS 6.4 runs into "start .. V

Post by pjwelsh » 2013/09/23 12:42:13

@toracat a long time ago [url=http://blog.toracat.org/2011/05/vmware-workstation-and-rhel6-1/]posted some helpful info[/url] that worked in version 6, 7 and 8. You may want to give it a try. Please make sure to post your results. I don't recall issues with version 9 and have not changed to 10 yet.

catshout
Posts: 5
Joined: 2013/09/23 06:48:57

Re: VMWare Workstation 10 under CentOS 6.4 runs into "start .. Virtual machine monitor [FAILED]" error

Post by catshout » 2013/09/24 11:49:14

I tried this on a fresh installed CentOS 6.4 with 2.6.32-358.6.1.el6.x86_64 kernel. Same error. Next try .. I did set the "Kernel hacking - Enable unused/obsolete exported symbols" option and tried it again. Same behaviour.

Excerpt from /var/log/messages:

[code]Sep 24 13:48:08 j63763 kernel: /dev/vmmon[2109]: Task_Initialize: unsupported SS e02b[/code]

catshout
Posts: 5
Joined: 2013/09/23 06:48:57

Re: VMWare Workstation 10 under CentOS 6.4 runs into "start .. Virtual machine monitor [FAILED]" error

Post by catshout » 2013/09/24 15:02:33

Additional info, I'm using a virtual CentOS environment in the cloud.

I've set up a fresh installed machine in this environment and uploaded VMware Workstation at /tmp dir (that's the version wherefore I have a license).

May be you can try to reproduce the behaviour in this environment. The server does have the following data

SSH access
j63823.servers.jiffybox.net
root
removed
It's a virtual server you can play around, I'll delete it after the tests.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24313
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: VMWare Workstation 10 under CentOS 6.4 runs into "start .. Virtual machine monitor [FAILED]" error

Post by TrevorH » 2013/09/24 15:44:37

Please do not post login details on a public forum. Not even for test instances. Anyone could use that information to do anything they felt like and the responsibility would lie with you!

Please post the output from `uname -a` on the host system that you're trying to get this to run on. I am not sure if you can run nested virtualisation - and if you can then it may well need options set on the lower host system(s) to make it work.

catshout
Posts: 5
Joined: 2013/09/23 06:48:57

Re: VMWare Workstation 10 under CentOS 6.4 runs into "start .. Virtual machine monitor [FAILED]" error

Post by catshout » 2013/09/24 21:24:17

[quote]Please do not post login details on a public forum. Not even for test instances. Anyone could use that information to do anything they felt like and the responsibility would lie with you![/quote]
I'm sorry, you're absolutely right. I've just changed the passwd, you may get the current one via PM.

Here's the output you've asked for

[code]uname -a
Linux j63823.servers.jiffybox.net 2.6.32-358.6.1.el6.x86_64 #1 SMP Tue Apr 23 19:29:00 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
[/code]

Post Reply