What constitutes 'fake raid'? (curiosity)

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
lightman47
Posts: 727
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

What constitutes 'fake raid'? (curiosity)

Post by lightman47 » 2018/07/25 19:08:37

How does one know, prior to buying or even just installing, whether they have or are buying fake raid? What should be looked for? How can we easily tell?

In my personal case, my Proliant room heater (DL380 G5) is running raid 10 (1+0) which was achieved by installing a couple "hp{something}" switches into the startup line both during install, and into my fstab. Is mine fake raid?

Thank you.
"The more I learn, the behinder I get"

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1384
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: What constitutes 'fake raid'? (curiosity)

Post by hunter86_bg » 2018/07/26 12:45:20

In your case you need to use the hpacucli (CentOS6) or hpssacli (CentOS7) for the raid battery status.

Usually fake raids require some extra drivers during installation and they lack a cache battery.
Failed fake raid requires the same motherboard to restore data, while using the CPU just like software raid.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23689
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: What constitutes 'fake raid'? (curiosity)

Post by TrevorH » 2018/07/26 13:34:02

FakeRAID has all its intelligence in the drivers on the host system and uses the host cpu for RAID caluclations. Hardware RAID has all this in hardware. In addition, hardware RAID will often have cache RAM on board and a battery/capacitor to keep any unwritten data alive until it can be written to disk in the event of a power failure.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply