Partitioning Table Errors

General support questions
Whoever
Posts: 1049
Joined: 2013/09/06 03:12:10

Re: Partitioning Table Errors

Post by Whoever » 2019/01/04 06:13:39

I don't understand what is going on here. If you have a RAID 5 array with 3 drives and one drive has failed, you should be able to read and write the data.

Whether or not you can add the replacement drive to the array is not important. The question is why does your RAID 5 array not work with 2 drives.

We can't see your images, nor can we see the posting on the Intel website, so no one here can really provide any useful insight.

The data was very valuable, right? So why not just restore it from your backup?

jmacdougca
Posts: 15
Joined: 2017/12/09 00:49:14
Location: CoQuitlam, BC
Contact:

Re: Partitioning Table Errors

Post by jmacdougca » 2019/01/05 19:38:21

Hi Whoever, thanks for the reply,

I agree I should be able to read and write the data with two drives. The RAID5 did work with two drives but it started to get slow so I shut the server down because I got scared.

I then put in a new hard drive (same type and size) because I thought it would automatically rebuild the RAID, turns out nope, it doesn't work like that, at least with this motherboard any ways. What I am wondering is if I set up the raid on the centos cmd would I be able to rebuild the raid without having to restore the raid from a back up (which I don't have). In other words would I be able to put the replacement hard drive in and restore like that?

Yeah the intel website has blocked me out as well...

Unfortunately I don't have backups for this RAID. This server has 2 RAIDS on it. The RAID5 was back up for the RAID0 I use for our CRM. I am hoping all my data is on the RAID0.

I feel like the next step is to take the new HD out of the Raid5 start the server and post the results of

fdisk -l and go from there. Will post in a few hours
Start less finish more

Whoever
Posts: 1049
Joined: 2013/09/06 03:12:10

Re: Partitioning Table Errors

Post by Whoever » 2019/01/05 20:18:00

I agree.

See if your RAID partition is readable with the two original drives. If it is, copy the data off to a safe location as soon as possible.

Then consider Trevor's suggestion: set up the drives as JBOD and use software RAID.

Post Reply