Network Interface Issue

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
sb11
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019/01/13 16:15:06

Network Interface Issue

Post by sb11 » 2019/01/13 16:23:36

Hello,

Im a newbie and I have installed CentOS 7 Minimal x86_64.

The issue that I have is that I am unable to connect to the network.

I have checked /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts and I am unable to find any network interfaces.

I have also checked for any ethernet card cards using nmcli d but none appear.

I have ran CentOS 6 and configured the network and all was running fine. As CentOS 6 is to be depreciated next year I would like to use 7.

Any help or advise on this would be strongly appreciated.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 25576
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by TrevorH » 2019/01/13 16:41:15

Post the output from lspci -nn | grep -i net
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

sb11
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019/01/13 16:15:06

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by sb11 » 2019/01/13 16:53:41

Hi,

# lspci -nn | grep -i net

00:08.0 Bridge [0680]: NVIDIA Corporation MCP55 Ethernet [10de:0373] (rev a3)

Thank you

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 25576
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by TrevorH » 2019/01/13 17:19:42

That chipset is not supported by CentOS 7 out of the box - it was one of the 100Mbps ethernet adapters that RH deprecated when el7 first came out. You can still make it work but you'll need to google ELRepo and follow their instructions on how to install elrepo-release then you can download and install their kmod-forcedeth package. That will supply a kernel module that will work with the current 7.6 kernel series but you need to make sure that you have elrepo-release installed so that you pick up subsequent updates to it in case support breaks at the next point release.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

sb11
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019/01/13 16:15:06

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by sb11 » 2019/01/13 17:40:21

Sorry to drag this out, I have found the ELRepo for CentOS-7: http://elrepo.org/tiki/tiki-index.php my question as the server does not have any internet connectivity would you be able to recommend how I can install this possibly from a USB.

I know that when I have that installed I can go ahead and run yum http://lon.mirror.rackspace.com/elrepo/ ... noarch.rpm

pjsr2
Posts: 413
Joined: 2014/03/27 20:11:07

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by pjsr2 » 2019/01/13 17:49:57

Download https://elrepo.org/linux/elrepo/el7/x86 ... x86_64.rpm, transfer it with a USB stick, then:

Code: Select all

sudo yum install kmod-forcedeth-0.64-3.el7_5.elrepo.x86_64.rpm

sb11
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019/01/13 16:15:06

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by sb11 » 2019/01/13 18:39:26

Hi pjsr2

I’ve copied the rpm over to the usb.

But when I am trying to install it it’s saying that it cannot find a base url for the repo.

I have tried to cat /dev/sdb1 which is the usb stick but it’s saying it’s not a directory any help would be strongly appreciated.

Thank you

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 25576
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by TrevorH » 2019/01/13 18:41:23

Use

yum --disablerepo=\* install /path/to/kmod-forcedeth....rpm (amend path and kmod name appropriately)
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

sb11
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019/01/13 16:15:06

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by sb11 » 2019/01/13 19:26:30

Hello

Would I be correct in saying that the correct command is

yum --disablerepo=\* install /dev/sdb/kmod-forcedeth-0.64-3.el7_5.elrepo.x86_64.rpm

As when I do it’s says there are no enabled repos.

Thanks

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 25576
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Network Interface Issue

Post by TrevorH » 2019/01/13 20:26:30

No, /dev/sdb is the device it's on. You'll have to mount that to some directory first (or it might automount under /run/media somewhere). Then use the path to where it's mounted.

Edit: if your USB drive is partitioned then you might need to mount e.g /dev/sdb1 not /dev/sdb.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply