Static IP Networking - adding 2nd server

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
drummondislebsd
Posts: 14
Joined: 2015/02/01 01:40:52

Static IP Networking - adding 2nd server

Post by drummondislebsd » 2019/04/19 14:52:24

Hello,
Struggling to set up a 2nd server on network.
Per, ISP
static ip's x.x.x.33/28
gateway is x.x.x.46
subnetmask 255.255.255.240

Attempting to add a 2nd server that is static configured

server1.domain.com x.x.x.33
this hostname has a dns hosted by third party.
A record exists at DNS server for each "host name/subdomain" as shown
PTR record exists with ISP

server2.domain.com x.x.x.42
this hostname also has dns hosted by third party.
A record exists at DNS server for each "domain" as shown
PTR record exists with ISP
+++++++++++++++
first server has - Centos 6
x.x.x.33
Netmask is 255.255.255.240
gateway is x.x.x.46
broadcast is x.x.x.32

/etc/sysconfig/network
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME="server1.domain.com"
GATEWAY=x.x.x.46

When I execute ifconfig -a, values shown above are displayed.
+++++++++
second server has - Centos 7
x.x.x.42
Netmask is 255.255.255.240
gateway is x.x.x.46
broadcast is x.x.x.32

/etc/sysconfig/network
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME="server1.domain.com"
GATEWAY=x.x.x.46

When I execute ifconfig -a, values change... and broadcast is shown at x.x.x.47

The ifcfg-eth0 file values include a "PREFIX"=28. And, I suspect this is the reason it keeps changing the broadcast value to "47". But, I don't know how to get this configured so it is publicly reachable for ssh and internet traffic. Help appreciated. thx

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 26862
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Static IP Networking - adding 2nd server

Post by TrevorH » 2019/04/20 14:09:01

Your broadcast address on that network is .47 - it's not .32.

Code: Select all

$ ipcalc -4 -b -m -n 192.168.1.33/28
NETMASK=255.255.255.240
BROADCAST=192.168.1.47
NETWORK=192.168.1.32
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
CentOS 6 goes EOL sooner rather than later, get upgrading!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Networking Support”