frozen GNOME

Issues related to applications and software problems and general support
MakeTopSite
Posts: 26
Joined: 2019/10/11 09:13:47

frozen GNOME

Post by MakeTopSite » 2019/10/18 17:17:05

I've switched to tty using Ctrl-Alt-F3 and went AFK for more than 1 hour.
I had switched back to GNOME after I've returned but GNOME is somehow frozen. It was periodically switching from black screen to "normal" screen but "normal" screen seems to be outdated as if screen is not refreshed anymore.

Screen is not flicking anymore, there is one "frozen picture" only.

I've tried using Alt-F4 to close as much applications as possible but some are still visible in htop in tty.

What is please best way to close all applications and restart GNOME ?

nouvo09
Posts: 146
Joined: 2009/09/19 19:21:36
Location: Paris, France

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by nouvo09 » 2019/10/18 19:02:33

# systemctl restart gdm
Member of centos-FR forum

MakeTopSite
Posts: 26
Joined: 2019/10/11 09:13:47

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by MakeTopSite » 2019/10/19 08:10:21

nouvo09 wrote:
2019/10/18 19:02:33
# systemctl restart gdm
Well, thank you. (I suppose that unsaved data can't be saved at this moment)

nouvo09
Posts: 146
Joined: 2009/09/19 19:21:36
Location: Paris, France

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by nouvo09 » 2019/10/19 09:00:23

Don't suppose, just check out !
Member of centos-FR forum

MakeTopSite
Posts: 26
Joined: 2019/10/11 09:13:47

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by MakeTopSite » 2019/10/19 15:00:58

nouvo09 wrote:
2019/10/19 09:00:23
Don't suppose, just check out !
I'm sorry, restart GDM has failed.

Code: Select all

# systemctl restart gdm
gdm[23661]: Glib: g_variant_new_string: assertion 'string != NULL' failed
gdm[23661]: Child process -23670 was already dead
gdm[23661]: Unable to kill session worker process

JCVMinou
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019/10/18 10:21:56

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by JCVMinou » 2019/10/20 05:48:04

Hello,
Use Xorg instead of Wayland. This solved this issue for me. :D

MakeTopSite
Posts: 26
Joined: 2019/10/11 09:13:47

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by MakeTopSite » 2019/10/21 11:55:05

JCVMinou wrote:
2019/10/20 05:48:04
Hello,
Use Xorg instead of Wayland. This solved this issue for me. :D
Hello,
Thank you. Can I use GNOME Classic on Xorg ?

JCVMinou
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019/10/18 10:21:56

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by JCVMinou » 2019/10/25 05:42:15

I don't use Gnome Classic. Try. :D

MakeTopSite
Posts: 26
Joined: 2019/10/11 09:13:47

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by MakeTopSite » 2019/11/01 07:44:30

JCVMinou wrote:
2019/10/20 05:48:04
Hello,
Use Xorg instead of Wayland. This solved this issue for me. :D
loginctl says that I'm using x11 already. I'm not aware about making any changes here so it's probably default.
Thank you in advance for any helpful answer.

MakeTopSite
Posts: 26
Joined: 2019/10/11 09:13:47

Re: frozen GNOME

Post by MakeTopSite » 2019/11/01 07:47:30

nouvo09 wrote:
2019/10/19 09:00:23
Don't suppose, just check out !
I have had another opportunity and SIGQUIT from htop was working fine.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 8 - General Support”