VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

General support questions including new installations
Wabbit
Posts: 8
Joined: 2007/04/25 14:46:53

VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby Wabbit » 2007/04/25 15:20:02

Hello,
I'm new to Linux and I am trying to get a CentOS 5 server running. The server seems to be up with no problems, and I ran the VMware tools install and configuration. It initially had a problem starting X, then reconfigured and X runs, but I can only run the screen in 800x600 or less. This makes it tough to work with some of the graphical boxes.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!

Lenard
Posts: 2283
Joined: 2005/11/29 02:35:25
Location: Indiana

Re: VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby Lenard » 2007/04/25 20:52:43

Wabbit wrote:
Hello,
I'm new to Linux and I am trying to get a CentOS 5 server running. The server seems to be up with no problems, and I ran the VMware tools install and configuration. It initially had a problem starting X, then reconfigured and X runs, but I can only run the screen in 800x600 or less. This makes it tough to work with some of the graphical boxes.

Anyone have any ideas?


I'm assuming that CentOS5 is a guest OS on some system. When you reconfigured X did you select the xorg vmware driver???

Wabbit
Posts: 8
Joined: 2007/04/25 14:46:53

Re: VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby Wabbit » 2007/04/26 14:20:26

Yes, I am running CentOS 5 as a VMware quest on an XP host. As for the driver, I don't recall being offered that option. Does the xorg.conf file have something to do with this? Here is what it says:

Thanks! Here is the text from the file:

# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "vmware"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7117
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby toracat » 2007/04/27 01:00:27

You need to configure monitor and select a higher resolution. Restart X.

Wabbit
Posts: 8
Joined: 2007/04/25 14:46:53

Re: VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby Wabbit » 2007/04/27 11:35:58

How do I do that?

Lenard
Posts: 2283
Joined: 2005/11/29 02:35:25
Location: Indiana

Re: VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby Lenard » 2007/04/27 13:24:41

As root using your choice of text editor edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, example:

Code: Select all

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Videocard0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection


As root from the console runnning at runlevel 3:

system-config-display --reconfigure --set-depth=24 --set-resolution=1024x768 --set-driver=vmware

For help see: system-config-display --help

Take your pick.

Wabbit
Posts: 8
Joined: 2007/04/25 14:46:53

Re: VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby Wabbit » 2007/04/30 13:56:12

After going through all the steps you listed here and that I found elsewhere, and not having any luck, it looks like I found the answer, and it was a really simple one...

From within X, I went to System > Administration > Display > Hardware tab > Configure button. Then I used the drop arrow to see what other monitors were available, chose Generic LCD 1024x768 and restarted X.

Worked like a charm!

Thanks for all the help!

DocHants
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007/08/22 17:17:52

Re: VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby DocHants » 2009/01/23 09:43:40

None of above worked for me...

I really cant use the desktop at 800x600 most of the windows wont display properly and I cant select OK or Apply on many of them.. very annoying.....

kdavid
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010/03/12 12:06:03

Re: VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby kdavid » 2010/03/12 12:11:04

Worked Fine!!! for me.
Great Post!
Thanks Guys!

User avatar
bluegroper
Posts: 170
Joined: 2005/09/07 23:04:21
Location: .au

VMware Tools problem - Screen resolution only 800x600

Postby bluegroper » 2010/06/30 22:24:14

Thx


Return to “CentOS 5 - General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests